Humidity question...

PDA

RugerBob
January 20, 2010, 09:55 AM
Hey all, I have been reloading and casting for a few years now. My wife got me a temp and humidity gauge for the basement where I have all my stuff. I am not sure of the summer time temp down there, but this winter it averages 45 degrees w/44% humidity. When I heat the basement its 65degrees w/47% humidity. During the summer its cooler down there and I do run a de-humidafier. I have had no problems with primers or powder.
I am in Maine. I was wondering if there was a level of humidity that is a safe zone for powder and primers. I do also keep 2 1/2"x5" deccisant (sp?) blocks in all the areas of need. (free of charge). Kid works in a computer shop and gets a lot of them.
So, is there a safe # in both temp and humidity that are safe that should be aimed for?
Thanks Bob

If you enjoyed reading about "Humidity question..." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Kernel
January 20, 2010, 11:02 AM
If your primers and powders are kept in airtight sealed containers, then the humidity in the basement shouldn’t matter. Okay. That’s a BS reply, but you get the idea. I’d keep the RH in your basement between 40% and 60%. Higher RH in the summer, lower in the winter. Store your primers in an old .50 cal ammo can, or something similar. Since you have so many, throw a couple of those small desiccant pacts inside. Put some in your powder containers as well, can‘t hurt. As long as your basement temp stays below 100F it won't be a problem for longterm storage.

rcmodel
January 20, 2010, 12:44 PM
50% H / 70 F is Museum grade storage conditions.

Sounds like you are close enough for Goobermint work year round.

rc

RugerBob
January 20, 2010, 08:57 PM
Thanks. Guess I'm good to go on it then. Bob

snuffy
January 20, 2010, 09:51 PM