Vibrators are not Tumblers

PDA

Robby from Long Island
January 21, 2010, 08:00 PM
I've been reading a lot of posts recently about the safety of tumbling live rounds, and noticed something strange.

People are referring to their vibrators as "Tumblers", which they ar e not, they are vibrators. Even the manufacturers of some vibrators are now calling them tumblers. To the best of my knowledge, there are only two tumblers on the market. One is "Thumlers Tumbler" and the other "RCBS Sidewinder".

The action of an actual tumbler is more violent internally than is the action of a vibrator.

I can't help but wonder how many people are referring to their vibrator as a tumbler when discussing the safety of tumbling live ammo. I've been using a Thumler tumbler for about 25 years and more recently bought a vibrator.

While I might consider cleaning loaded ammo in a vibrator, I never would in a tumbler. This of course is JMHO.

If you enjoyed reading about "Vibrators are not Tumblers" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
warnerwh
January 21, 2010, 08:09 PM
You have a good point. That has always bothered me too. Unfortunately most people call a vibrator and tumbler online. Tumbling live ammo is something that I would consider dangerous also.

snuffy
January 21, 2010, 08:12 PM
The action of an actual tumbler is more violent internally than is the action of a vibrator.

Oh? Then explain why a vibratory tumbler cleans/shines so much faster than your "tumbler".!? Another thing, since you have both, take a long look at what the brass being cleaned in a vibratory tumbler is doing. looks like it's tumbling to me! I guess the correct term is circulating?

I usually try to use the above terms when referring to my tumbler, "vibratory tumbler".

David Wile
January 21, 2010, 08:14 PM
Hey Robby,