45LC brass question


PDA






whitetail2
January 24, 2010, 12:16 PM
Getting ready to start loading some 45LC. I have new Starline brass. Should I size the brass, or can I skip that step, and start priming and belling the case mouth?

If you enjoyed reading about "45LC brass question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Claude Clay
January 24, 2010, 12:35 PM
starline has always sent me brass that was within spec

that said, my SDB, i have to start at station 1 so it gets sized.
besides i would size new brass anyways just as a 'because'

since you are asking the question I'm gonna go with you not having a progressive press, so, if the brass fits in the chambers of you gun(s) it seems like skipping the sizing step would be OK.
make a few rounds to verify.

bell as little as possible to extend the life of the brass
if the bullet drops to low in the mouth, you may have to size anyways.

101VooDoo
January 24, 2010, 12:45 PM
Whitetail, in the past I've always sized any new brass including Starline. That being said, I've just bought some new Starline .45 LC that mic'ed .477 and 1.270, well within sized specs.

If I was loading on single stage press instead of an LNL AP, I wouldn't bother sizing these.

Jim

bigtony
January 24, 2010, 12:56 PM
I have always sized mine first because that is a great way to inspect it for flaws. Never found one in Starline but you never know. It only takes one!

Walkalong
January 24, 2010, 02:02 PM
I like to size mine the first time. Some don't. Not a real big deal either way, but I wouldn't rely on any data the first firing if you do not size it.

Welcome to THR.

rcmodel
January 24, 2010, 02:07 PM
+1 on sizing it.

New brass is bound to have different neck tension then you will get with your own sizing and expanding dies.

Might as well start out with it being the same as it's always going to be from now on.

rc

THe Dove
January 24, 2010, 02:08 PM
I'm with Walkalong. Some do some don't but I always size.

The Dove

whitetail2
January 24, 2010, 02:11 PM
Thanks all. I believe I will go ahead and size it, just to be sure. Oh and by the way, great site here. I've been reading it since Christmas, already got my father-in-law to join up too.

Uncle Chan
January 24, 2010, 02:37 PM
I size everything.

Lafeswede
January 25, 2010, 04:42 AM
Hello Whitetail,
I agree, I also use starline for .45 LC and always size it. Another thing: this I learned from a handloading annex to G&A some ten years ago; since that big black powder case is only partially filled with smokefree powder, there is a risk of erratic ignition. Fill the space above the powder load with a small wad of dacron wool. That's the stuff in cheap lumpy pillows that you hate anyway. One pillow will last you a lifetime. A friend of mine did the same with .44 Spl being shot in his mod. 29. Did wonders for the grouping.
My Bisley Blackhawk is scaringly accurate since I started to do this with my handloads.
Good luck and Sail safe
Lafe

Oyeboten
January 25, 2010, 04:52 AM
Hi Lafeswede,


Appreciate the 'Dacron tuft' mention...


I'll try it.

I plan to begin loading .45 LC maybe by Summer, and in Smokeless, 'Target Loads' especially, yes indeedy, there'd usually be a lot of undesireable space in a Case of that volume, inviting irregularities of Burn ( unless one point the Revolver straight 'up' and tap it a few times, before each shot! or even then...)

If you enjoyed reading about "45LC brass question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!