5.56 sized and trimmed to .223 now a .223?


PDA






ochadd
January 27, 2010, 05:29 PM
Bought some brass and full length sized and trimmed everything to 1.75. Is the brass safe to shoot in a .223 remington with .223 data?

If you enjoyed reading about "5.56 sized and trimmed to .223 now a .223?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Birdhunter1
January 27, 2010, 05:43 PM
If the case in questions had a military crimp in it it needs to be removed. Other than that military surplus stuff in 5.56 has thicker walls therefore less case capacity so what might be a safe load in Winchester brass may not be safe in Lake City brass, but this is true in any case that is significantly heavier in any caliber.

For what it's worth the loads I use in my .223 bolt and AR 15 are loaded the same regardless of brass and I have not had any problems whatsoever, but mine isn't a borderline hot load either.

ochadd
January 27, 2010, 05:54 PM
All my good loads for my bolt action rifle are under max and have used Winchester, LC, GFL, and PMC cases with no difference.

The new brass has allot of PMC brass with crimped primers. Took me about 6 hours to do 400 cases sized, trimmed, chamfered, and then reaming the pockets. I'm looking at varmint AR uppers and everyone chambers for something different.
Stag 6h = 5.56
RRA Varmint = .223 Wylde
DPMS = .223 Remington

rcmodel
January 27, 2010, 05:55 PM
Yes, they are .223 now.

GI brass may have less case capacity, the same capacity, or more capacity, depending on what you compare it to.

I have old LC brass that is lighter then my new commercial Remington .223 brass.

See: Brass--New and Once-Fired about 1/4 way down this page for some weight comparisons of commercial & GI brass.

http://www.6mmbr.com/223Rem.html

Just use .223 load data, and work up from starting load with the powder you chose to use.

rc

ochadd
January 27, 2010, 06:00 PM
Another question...

Some of the brass was within spec < 1.76 but instead of wasting time measuring it all I just trimmed everything. Figure the fewer the variables the better. All brass I've ever bought whether it's new or used gets the same treatment. Do others do this as well or do you guys just shoot if it's within spec?

rcmodel
January 27, 2010, 06:02 PM
I always size & trim all once fired brass, especially GI brass which is not very uniform to start with.

In all likelihood, it wasn't all even shot in the same gun, so various amounts of stretching took place.

rc

If you enjoyed reading about "5.56 sized and trimmed to .223 now a .223?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!