Bad Load/Combination

PDA

Mike 27
January 30, 2010, 06:13 PM
I am new to reloading, but think I have done a considerable amount of homework. I first off have a Taurus 605 .357 Mag that I enjoy firing .38 Spec out of. My first batch was with a 110gr bullet with 7 gr of HS 6 and had a stuck bullet. I thought that this was strictly an error on my part but did not like the load, mind you my gun only has a 2 1/2 in bbl and most load data is for 4". I went out today with the same bullet and Bullseye and AA 2 and had no issue what so ever and loved the load, but after I had my issue I had pulled the HS 6 rounds apart and checked averything again and went up to 7.2 gr. Well long story short I tryed one more of these rounds and again a stuck bullet. On my first iteration I fired about 20 rounds of this and didnt like it due to the light kick, but today it was the 1 and only round I put down the pipe.
I guess my point is that I have found no info on incidents such as this in my manuals or online for snub nose pistols, and this scared the crap out of me. Like I said I follow directions to the T and check ussually 3 sources for the " recipe" and wiegh my charges on 2 scales. When done I also wiegh the completed product to check one more time. I thought some how I missed a powder charge on the first attempt, but after today I know that this is not the case, although there will be those that say that is what it is. I just wanted to share this learning experience and possibly see if there are any ideas other than the slow burning powder, (my mistake) and in-experience. Are there additional resources out there for things such as this? Or "bad recipes" for certain weapons?

If you enjoyed reading about "Bad Load/Combination" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
bds
January 30, 2010, 06:47 PM
Mike, welcome to the wonderful world of reloading. :confused: