Are these worth this price?

PDA

rick spencer
February 9, 2010, 05:34 AM
:what:Let me start by saying i am by no means an expert on 1911's but this price seems a little outragous! http://www.usfirearms.com/cat/1911.asp Don't get me wrong, it is a beautiful looking piece and i don't doubt their quality but, I would think you could get an original for that kinda money. I would definately hunt for an original before paying that much. just my humble opinion. What say you all?

If you enjoyed reading about "Are these worth this price?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
legion3
February 9, 2010, 06:28 AM
Maybe if the old roll marks are important to you. Property of the US Navy is not a roll mark you see often.

I am not a 1911 guy but I have seen 1911's priced way more than that.

rick spencer
February 9, 2010, 07:02 AM
I realize Navy marks are rare and worth a higher premium but if i was willing to spend that amount of money i would think a person would save his money an find an original. I would think the investment would be better spent on the originals.

The Bushmaster
February 9, 2010, 09:39 AM
I'm in agreement, rick...

Strahley
February 9, 2010, 10:03 AM
No thanks

MIgunguy
February 9, 2010, 10:13 AM
For a repo??? No way!!

Sam Cade
February 9, 2010, 10:16 AM
I would love to have one...just so I could duracoat it OD green.:evil:

rick spencer
February 9, 2010, 07:13 PM
That is great!! Lmfao!!

Oro
February 9, 2010, 09:16 PM
The REAL problem with those guns isn't necessarily the price - it's the fact it's not remotely close to being an accurate repro of a 1911 military model. The slide stop is from a WWII or later gun, the frame and trigger from a 1924 or later model, and the grips are lose but still not right.

I could see paying for authenticity, but not for a half-baked job.

Oyeboten
February 10, 2010, 05:50 AM
Oro nailed it...