Please Recommend a First-Time Defensive Pistol

PDA

SR9
February 19, 2010, 10:27 PM
Im new to the whole concealed defense firearm thing. And since i know zilch about what is on the market much less about where the best place to get something from would be, so i seem to have made the happy mistake of stumbling upon this forum. I would like to purchase a handgun preferably semi-auto,nice looking,decent stopping power, i dont care if its new or used and heres the kick...all for under 200 bucks..Possible? or am i dreaming? Thanks for any input any of you provide

-Cody

If you enjoyed reading about "Please Recommend a First-Time Defensive Pistol" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
cyclopsshooter
February 19, 2010, 10:28 PM
hungarian pa-63

but i think its ugly

oh yeah, get a hi-point,they are sexy!

welcome to thr :)

Robert
February 19, 2010, 10:33 PM
It can be done but I would save up $800 or so and get a quality firearm. You can get a High Point for around $200, but I would only go that route if i had no other choice. They are not horrible pistols but better can be had with a little patience and saving.

slabuda
February 19, 2010, 10:38 PM
I dont think you need 800.
200 hundred can get you a used pistol but if you save just a bit more you can get a police turn in glock.

Im not for or against glock. Yea they are not pretty but they work and work and work...Other options are a Keltec. good guns for a good price. I am considering a p3at (.380 acp) or a bit bigger and more powerful PF-9 (9mm)

Both can be had for 250-300

And welcome, you asked a good question and will hear LOADS of different advice.

The best bit I can give you is get some gun safety training at a shop/range and try out some different guns to find out what you like.

SR9
February 19, 2010, 10:47 PM