Recoil Surprize

PDA

nerd-with-a-gun
February 23, 2010, 04:53 PM
Usually I shoot Magtech .357 158 gr out of my GP100 and I have been happy with it. I squeeze the trigger and it goes boom and I hit the target. Today I went to the range and tried some Remington .357 125 gr. This time I squeezed the trigger and it went BOOM with significant recoil, much more than the Magtech cartidges. It was so loud the RO came over and looked to see what I was shooting. He thought it was a .44 magnum. After about 25 rounds the recoil was starting to get uncomfortable. I finished the box of 50, but I must say that it was not that much fun to shoot that particular cartridge.

Correct me if I am wrong, and I am likely to be wrong since I am a relative newbie with handguns, but I thought that a 158 gr bullet would give me more recoil than a 125 gr bullet. Why was the Remington so much more snappy and loud than the Magtech rounds.

Oh yeah, the Remingtons were also very dirty. Much dirtier than Blazer aluminum case rounds.

If you enjoyed reading about "Recoil Surprize" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
gwnorth
February 23, 2010, 04:57 PM
Higher velocity means greater recoil. The 125's would only prodice less recoil if they had the same or lower velocity then the 158's.

rcmodel
February 23, 2010, 05:01 PM
Velocity & pressure level.

The Magtech probably isn't loaded as hot as the full power Remington 125 grain stuff.

What you got with the Remington load is really what a .357 Mag is all about.

less recoil if they had the same or lower velocity then the 158's.Nope.
A 125 at 1,400 kicks less then a 158 at 1,200.
A 125 at 1,500 kicks about the same as a 158 at 1,200.

The recoil impulse may feel sharper, but actual free recoil of the gun is almost identical.

rc

1KPerDay
February 23, 2010, 05:31 PM