Trick to setting the expanding die.

PDA

Victor1Echo
February 25, 2010, 10:08 PM
I am reloading for a 32s&wlong. This is my first time reloading and I am having trouble adjusting the bell of the case. It is eiter not enough or too much. I follow the instructions but I cannot get it right. I am going to try again--so any tips?
Thanks in advance.

If you enjoyed reading about "Trick to setting the expanding die." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
thorn-
February 25, 2010, 10:12 PM
What press? Is it a separate expander die, or integrated into the powder measure?

thorn

loadedround
February 25, 2010, 10:30 PM
My suggestion would be to take your expander die and raise the expander plug stem and allow the sized case to comlpetely enter the die as far as it will go and hold it there. Slowly lower your expander stem until it makes contact with the case mouth and proceed turn it in no more than a half turn at a time until you get the proper belling. The proper belling is when the lead or jacketed bullet will just start into the case. Lock your adjustment nut and your die at that point and you're done. Remember you don't have to bell a case to look like a funnel, just enough to start the bullet. It's rather simple once you get the hang of it.

JDGray
February 25, 2010, 10:56 PM
^^^^What he said^^^^

Less is best, and your brass will last longer:) Having your brass trimmed to the same length, will also help.

Drail
February 26, 2010, 10:09 AM
Look into the Lyman M step expander die. It will not allow over expansion and case life is greatly extended. (it may not be available in .32 though) Trimming all cases to a consistent length is a huge help also.

Scrapperz
February 26, 2010, 10:36 AM
Look into the Lyman M step expander die. It will not allow over expansion and case life is greatly extended. (it may not be available in .32 though) Trimming all cases to a consistent length is a huge help also.