tikka t3 rings question


PDA






XxM0nEyMaKeRxX
February 27, 2010, 08:02 PM
I know this is discussed in a similar thread, but I couldn't find a straight answer. I want to buy a scope that has a 42mm objective on it. So my question is, with the standard tikka rings will it fit? thanks guys. Edit: lol, if you couldn't tell I want to mount it on a tikka t3.

If you enjoyed reading about "tikka t3 rings question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
hoghunting
February 28, 2010, 12:51 AM
Mine has a 40mm objective lens and there is about 1/4" clearance between scope and barrel. If your scope has an adjustable objective for parallax that is not turret mounted, then you will need more clearance.

As a note, my T3 has fired over 500 rounds in 300 WSM, and there have never been any problems with the factory rings.

308pilot
February 28, 2010, 02:27 AM
I have a T3 lite SS/Syn .308 using the factory rings. The only problem was that the rings were mounted on the rifle when it was in the box, and the hex wrench that came with it for the ring screws stripped one of the screws that tighten the ring to the dovetail slot on the reciever because the screw had been installed too tight, and I could not remove it in order to relocate it for my scope. Luckily I have a great screw extractor that removed the screw and I have been using the factory rings with a 2.5 X 10 X 42mm Nikon Monarch without problem (with a new screw). I have the scope mounted well forward on the rifle, but I don't think you will have any problem using the supplied rings withn a 42 mm scope. There is at least 1/8 in clearance between the scope and the barrel.

Horsemany
February 28, 2010, 04:09 PM
I had a 44mm Nikon Monarch with adjustable obj. mounted in factory rings and they worked fine. A 42mm will work adjustable obj or not.

My experience was with a sporter wieght barrel. A bull barrel would likely not have enough clearance.

Birdhunter1
March 1, 2010, 09:14 AM
I have a Sightron 6-24X42 AO scope on my Tikka T3 .243, plenty of clearance.

627PCFan
March 1, 2010, 10:32 AM
It should clear.

This might be worth a read for you.
http://www.go2gbo.com/forums/index.php/topic,183947.0.html

I did lap the factory rings with a lapping bar just to see and and every aspect of the rings was out of true. Ill try and post pics tongiht-

45crittergitter
March 1, 2010, 08:51 PM
I have a 40 mm AO on mine and it clears.

If you enjoyed reading about "tikka t3 rings question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!