pardon my ignorance

PDA

Brutz
March 3, 2010, 10:31 AM
I just got a sp101 in .357 and it ran flawlessly. I love the dang thing. It is now my favorite to shoot. Now as the title suggests, I have a question that is rather common knowledge to most of you. I know not to do it, but why do I not flip the cylinder shut? What is it that can damage? thanks in advance. also I do not have any pics, due to the fact that my wife's digital camera is on its way. Got to love tax returns.

If you enjoyed reading about "pardon my ignorance" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
savit260
March 3, 2010, 10:32 AM
You run the risk of bending the crane.

It's also about the same as using the term "Good Buddy" on a C.B. radio.

Something you only do if you want to look like a total newb.

md7
March 3, 2010, 10:43 AM
great little revovler you got there, i really like the sp101 and gp100 series that ruger has out.

bending the crane, as savit260 has already noted, is the risk you run by flicking a revolver closed. there might be other problems that i am not aware of.

congrats on the revolver by the way!

gwnorth
March 3, 2010, 10:45 AM
You also run a real risk of damage the cylinder locking pin and front locking tab - these do not like being slammed violently into their slots.

Demitrios
March 3, 2010, 10:47 AM
You'd be ignorant if you decided not to ask. Since you did decide to ask that shows that you have humility and humility is a sign of maturity. Congratulations on the new pistol and as the prior posters have said you can bend the crane and if you do that a slew of problems can arise from that.

Sniper X
March 3, 2010, 11:06 AM
That is a great question. Many just don't ask, then have problems when they do it too much. I never flip a revolvers cylender shut personally.

OldCavSoldier
March 3, 2010, 11:53 AM
Speaking on behalf of your revolver...THANK YOU FOR ASKING!!