Rock Tumbler Versus Regular Tumbler

PDA

chagasrod
March 6, 2010, 04:25 PM
Would a Rotary rock tumbler like this one work to tumble catridge cases?

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products/Default.aspx?ProdId=THU100&utm_source=froogle

I Have the RCBS Vibratory Case cleaner and i'm wondering if this would do the same as the RCBS Sidewinder for WAY less money.

Thanks in advance

If you enjoyed reading about "Rock Tumbler Versus Regular Tumbler" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
SlamFire1
March 6, 2010, 06:11 PM
I have been using a Thumler's Tumbler to clean brass for the last two decades. Belts wear out, rollers wear out, that's about it.

Cabela's is selling them for $179.

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/links/link.jsp;jsessionid=EPYCXLUK011ENLAQBBJSCONMCAEFIIWE?id=0003101212489a&type=product&cmCat=froogle&cm_ven=data_feed&cm_cat=froogle&cm_pla=1230101&cm_ite=0003101212489a&_requestid=26065

http://www.thumlerstumbler.com/images/rotary_b.jpg

hydraulicman
March 6, 2010, 06:25 PM
you can get a lyman for 50 or so bucks. just do that

jcwit
March 6, 2010, 07:09 PM
Why? There's bunches of vibrating tumblers out their that work just great and are much quieter, even Thumlers Tumbler sell them if you insist on spending big bucks.

Natchez has the Lyman 1200 Pro on sale for $42.00.

1SOW
March 6, 2010, 11:31 PM
The vibratory tumbler moves more media faster in a given time.

ants
March 6, 2010, 11:41 PM
Way back in the 70's the reloaders in my region started using rotary rock tumblers. I couldn't afford one, but eventually I got a hold of an old used one, and I was amazed at how well it scrubbed.

When that rock tumbler burned its motor, I went to the paddle-type bread dough mixer (anybod else ever use those?). That thing cleaned best of all.