opinions please

PDA

deadeye dick
March 8, 2010, 06:26 PM
what do you guys and gals think of the.32 auto as a hideout gun or a ankle holster weapon. I'm new to the self defence scene and want the best bang for the buck. I like the Kel Tec for the size weight and concealability. I also want to train to be a crack shot ay close range. I currently use Federal premium 65 gr.hydra shock jhp ammo. and I own the Kel Tec. Put a lot of practice ammo. thru it and it is a reliable weapon. I also will be reloading.

I just joined the forum today and will be asking for a lot of advece and opinions.

If you enjoyed reading about "opinions please" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Shawn Dodson
March 8, 2010, 06:48 PM
If you want to be a crack shot then you've got your work cut out for you with a KelTec P32. The trigger (stiff, long pull) does not favor accuracy. I had one - got a good deal on it - and I quickly got rid of it for that very reason.

An ankle holster is okay if you're seated or if you plenty of time to kneel to draw your gun. I don't use one. I suggest a pocket holster or a small inside waistband (IWB) holster.

As for ammo, I suggest an FMJ bullet for penetration reliability. If a JHP bullet expands it's not going to penetrate deeply enough to reach and damage vitals. If a JHP bullet doesn't expand (which is most likely if your bullet has to first pass through the bad guy's clothing - the post in the HydraShok's cavity allows cloth to more easily inhibit/prevent expansion) it will probably achieve adequate penetration. The problem with this situation is the inconsistent terminal performance of your ammo. You don't know how it's going to perform in any given shooting, whereas an FMJ bullet provides consistent penetration performance.