One in the chamber or no?

PDA

dendad
March 9, 2010, 12:22 AM
When you were new to CCW did you carry with one in the chamber right off? I'm betting most start with the tube empty to get used to the feel...

If you enjoyed reading about "One in the chamber or no?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
bhk
March 9, 2010, 12:25 AM
I had been shooting for 35+ years when we were first allowed CCW permits. I felt entirely comfortable with a loaded chamber right away.

archigos
March 9, 2010, 12:28 AM
I carried with one in the chamber from the beginning. Having a loaded gun that is not ready to operate introduces you to unnecessary hazards without giving you any benefit from carrying.
I introduced my father to carrying about a year after I started. For the first couple months he had his permit, he actually carried his gun in the manner he normally would (DA/SA decocked w/ no safety) but without any ammunition on him until he was comfortable enough that he knew it wasn't going to "go off".

Its certainly worth getting used to operating your CCW, as well as holstering and unholstering the weapon, until you are very competent with its operation and it feels natural. However, carrying with a loaded magazine without a chambered round serves you next to no purpose.

NavyLCDR
March 9, 2010, 12:43 AM
I'm betting most start with the tube empty to get used to the feel...

Not I. My personal safety was too important to me.

Hardtarget
March 9, 2010, 12:51 AM
I have never carried without a chambered round. Doesn't seem right to me to have the chamber empty.

Mark

March 9, 2010, 12:53 AM
One in the chamber or no???
Yes, always on my carry gun.

KAK
March 9, 2010, 12:54 AM
IMO and I am always right. :D If you are afraid to carry with one chambered you should carry a revolver instead. <---- Nothing wrong with revolvers, just make it a 357!!!

NavyLCDR
March 9, 2010, 12:56 AM