Not loving reloading.

PDA

9mm+
March 11, 2010, 11:41 PM
Okay, I have been working with a buddy's reloading setup while saving up to buy a rig of my own. The plan is to start reloading my 40S&W's primarily (I shoot that caliber the most) and save some money in the end. To be perfectly honest, I find the whole thing a pain. It's quite time-consuming (mainly because I am not good at it yet), and I don't find the case inspection, cleaning, primer setting, etc. to be very...well...rewarding.

Maybe I am not patient enough for reloading or maybe I simply need to stick with it longer to get "in the groove". In any case, I am holding off purchasing my own setup for now. My groupings with purchased remanufactured rounds are as good as what I am getting with my own reloading.

For those who are far more experienced than I in reloading, is there some "ah ha" moment just around the bend or is this as good as it gets?

If you enjoyed reading about "Not loving reloading." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Buck Snort
March 11, 2010, 11:49 PM
Its not everybody's cup of tea.

ants
March 11, 2010, 11:51 PM
Quit. You're hoarding up primers needed by the rest of us.

:neener:

Just kidding. Seriously, if it ain't your thing, don't do it.

Quoheleth
March 11, 2010, 11:52 PM
If you don't enjoy detailed work, working with your hands, and multi-steped processes to achieve an end, reloading might not be for you. That's OK - it's not for everyone. Better to be honest with yourself now, before investing in the equipment and components, rather than after spending several hundred bucks.

I'll give you two attaboys for being honest with yourself...and for saving the primers for the rest of us. :neener:

Q

jfh
March 11, 2010, 11:57 PM