Now that im a Police Officer, what can I buy?

PDA

Gunman21
March 25, 2010, 10:22 AM
As a citizen of general public, I could tell you every gun one could buy and what was restricted. I know that certain weapons and post ban FA are restricted to LE and Military only (except certain dealers ok). Recently I took a job with a local PD and now I'm a Detention officer (class 2 police). So what privileges if any does that title
give me when it comes to buying weapons? My intuition tells me that only the department itself could buy weapons. In other words, I can't add a box of grenades and a couple Mg's to my personal arsenal. But hey a mans gotta try.

If you enjoyed reading about "Now that im a Police Officer, what can I buy?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
docpadds
March 25, 2010, 10:50 AM
It does not give you the ability to buy full auto, suppressors etc. It may give you a discount through dealers, some of the products we sell can go at discount to law enforcement.
As for products marked LE only etc then thats a manufacturer thing, I see LE marked Colts every day in civilian hands.

armoredman
March 25, 2010, 11:13 AM
If you are a POST certified peace officer, you get to CCW without a permit, on your badge. Depending on what state you live in, perhaps some classes of firearms not generally available to the public may be issued to you, such as short barreled carbines or select fire pistol caliber submachineguns.
I like what Barret did - any place that restricts his firearms from the general public doesn't get to give them to the PD, either. I also live in AZ, which restricts no class of firearm from the general public, so getting a badge means no more to the firearms world than CCW without a permit. This kinda backfires on LE, as they must go through the Brady check when purchasing a firearm, while a CCW permit holder does not.

John Parker
March 25, 2010, 11:49 AM