The correct name for 30.06 ?

PDA

tercel89
March 25, 2010, 02:10 PM
WHat is the correct pronunciation for the caliber .30.06 ?
People say "thirty ought six" all the time and I dont understand .
I am a part-time/hobby mechanic and I deal with numbers and letters when determaning things and in engines , you got to be specific , and to me I call it "thirty zero six" .
What is the proper way to say this cartidge ? It has bugged me for 20 yrs!
When we use 00 buck for qualifications at work , I always say "double zero buck" and people look at me weird . It too has the word "ought" . Why is this ?

If you enjoyed reading about "The correct name for 30.06 ?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
jimmyraythomason
March 25, 2010, 02:13 PM
"thirty zero six" it was accepted by the United States military in 19aught6 not 19zero6..

ShootinDave
March 25, 2010, 02:15 PM
Its a 30 cal..... released in 1906.

Ought is an old english expression for "zero".

mljdeckard
March 25, 2010, 02:16 PM
My great-great grandfather isn't around to ask how it caught on, but it did.

If you want to be so esoteric that being correct is more important than people knowing what the heck you are talking about, you can call it the 7.62x63.

Pulsar
March 25, 2010, 02:17 PM
ought means zero

i have always said ought

edit - you guys are fast

gondorian
March 25, 2010, 02:18 PM
Because zero represents a quantity of nothing, and aught means nothing, so people say aught to represent zero, which is nothing (sort of). As far as I know ought usually means should, not nothing.

essayons21
March 25, 2010, 02:18 PM
watch a few english football matches... ought = nil = zero

ArmedBear
March 25, 2010, 02:19 PM
It's not 30.06, though. That's a law code in Texas, I think.

It's .30-06 or .30-'06 Springfield, meaning .30 caliber, M1906 (the military designation of the original standard cartridge, adopted in 1906), Springfield Armory.