Batch vs "as you go"?


PDA






Peter M. Eick
April 2, 2010, 10:13 PM
I used to load my brass as I go or when ever I shoot it up I would tend to reload it. The problem is I don't rotate stock so I found I had 10 year old 45acp ammo at the bottom of the pile today. I was sort of thinking I would just not load a caliber until I shot all of it I had loaded.

Anyone work this way or is there a better way of managing the ammo pile?

If you enjoyed reading about "Batch vs "as you go"?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
creepiE
April 2, 2010, 10:36 PM
Sounds as if "as you go" is the best way for you. Me, I only load a little, as it may sit a while. Which leads me to another question...

Idano
April 2, 2010, 10:48 PM
I load batch; some of it is over 15 years old but it shoots the same as did when I loaded it. I prefer batch because I always have some on hand and ready to go.

lgbloader
April 3, 2010, 01:36 AM
Peter,

I reload my brass as I shoot it and rotate it by date. You may have a hard time with this as you have 5 trillion ammo boxes to rotate. LOL

I am sure that your 10 year old handloads are just fine.

LGB

EddieNFL
April 3, 2010, 05:20 AM
Depending on the cartridge, never more than 1,500 at a time. I got caught up in a powder recall once.

For .45ACP, I use the small 7.62 ammo cans. I cycle three cans holding 500 rounds each.

ole farmerbuck
April 3, 2010, 06:37 AM
Depending on the cartridge, never more than 1,500 at a time. I got caught up in a powder recall once.

For .45ACP, I use the small 7.62 ammo cans. I cycle three cans holding 500 rounds each.
Ouch! Did replace your bullets too or just the powder?

HOWARD J
April 3, 2010, 09:09 AM
I have ammo I reloaded in '87---it shoots fine.
I have time-retired 11 years. I reload everything I shoot.
It started as a money saver & turned into a money pit---but I like it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jmorris
April 3, 2010, 09:15 AM
I do both. For the low volume rounds I may only load 20 to 50 at a time, when I need them. For ammo I use in practice, competition or playing with machine guns I load 1000’s at a time, none of that ammo will ever see a 10th birthday though.

hydraulicman
April 3, 2010, 09:33 AM
this is one reason I have a dillon 550 on my bench. Ammo on demand.

Walkalong
April 3, 2010, 09:56 AM
I used to batch ammo as well usually, but now I sometimes just rotate the brass. Load the fired stuff when it is half shot up and mark it somehow so I fire the previously loaded brass first. Either way works fine, and adds up to the same thing.

HOWARD J
April 3, 2010, 10:12 AM
I have a 450 & a 550---We don't shoot a 1000 rds. a week anymore.
I'm back to using my Lee turret press....

jmortimer
April 3, 2010, 10:21 AM
I like to batch load and concetrate on each step so I deactivted my turret press auto index and use it in single stage mode. Clean and resize, hand prime, ...... I feel I get better and more consistent results.

HOWARD J
April 3, 2010, 10:40 AM
I do keep a few extra rounds reloaded just-in-case !!!!!--:D:D:D

http://img688.imageshack.us/img688/1782/extrarounds.th.jpg (http://img688.imageshack.us/i/extrarounds.jpg/)

meadmkr
April 4, 2010, 07:21 AM
Batch for me.... I bought one of those thermal Dymo printers so all my ammo sprts water-resistant legible labels listing the components, date loaded and a barcoded batch# which ties back to my loading log which tracks the lot numbers for most of the components. I have a small barcode reader we use for cataloging our book/cd/dvd collections :) which makes it pretty easy to keep track of things.
For those of you thinking "why" go to this length? Well, my handwriting is terrible and I'm an IT geek ;)

EddieNFL
April 4, 2010, 08:00 AM
Ouch! Did replace your bullets too or just the powder?
Pulled the bullets and reused. Did 100 a day for about a month, as I recall.

Peter M. Eick
April 4, 2010, 10:13 AM
Meadmkr,

I am going to do the same thing when I run out of my current load labels. I am too cheap to just chuck them.

All of my ammo is serial numbered and logged so I know what I have, what is made up, what gun it is fired in, etc.

Sounds like batch is the way to go. I just need to shoot out all of the reloads in a caliber so I can do it.

Rollis R. Karvellis
April 4, 2010, 10:30 AM
My .223 fun stuff gets done in large baches after about three firering's, it gets sized, trimed, and segeratet by head stamp. When I, get 500 or more rounds put up I'll load them up and put them away for retirement. At the rate I'm going I, should be ready to retire at about age 165.

ole farmerbuck
April 4, 2010, 11:09 AM
Pulled the bullets and reused. Did 100 a day for about a month, as I recall.
I left out a word. 'They" I thought maybe the powder company might have replaced the bullets too if you had to pull them.

EddieNFL
April 4, 2010, 01:17 PM
I left out a word. 'They" I thought maybe the powder company might have replaced the bullets too if you had to pull them.
I wish. I would have sent them on a EOD burn run rather than pull 'em. They did replace the powder.

If you enjoyed reading about "Batch vs "as you go"?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!