Capper for my Ruger Old Army?

PDA

Tallbald
April 5, 2010, 12:01 AM
Had a great day with family shooting after lunch. Shot my latest ROA for the first time and it was the most fun shooting I've had in a while. I'm new to BP revolvers and would really appreciate guidance on a good capper for my Ruger. I think I've read that there are some that won't work because of the way the nipples are separated at the back of the cylinder. A specific brand and style pointer would be welcome. Thanks, Don

If you enjoyed reading about "Capper for my Ruger Old Army?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
azyogi
April 5, 2010, 01:58 AM
I use a strait line capper, the type sold at Cabellas. just about anywhere really.

pohill
April 5, 2010, 02:58 AM
I've never had any luck with cappers. I think it's harder to load a capper than it is to cap a cylinder. I live in the northeast and the Ruger Old Army is my "go to" gun on a cold day because they're the easiest gun to load and cap (wider chambers (.457), and the nipples are more accessible for capping). I like to pinch the caps for a better fit and that can't be done with any cappers I've tried.
Well, it looks like I didn't help you very much.

mykeal
April 5, 2010, 07:10 AM
I use the Ted Cash 'snail' capper with my ROA. It's much better than handling caps with arthritic thumbs. I did have to file the 'spout' a little to cut it back and keep it from interfering with the sides of the nipple recess but once that's done it works very quickly and smoothly. They hold 100 caps, so you only need to load it once for a couple of range sessions. Loading is easy and straightforward - the most effort required is to turn over the caps that don't land right side up when you dump them in from the tin.