Swapping receivers on an AR15


PDA






halfded
April 11, 2010, 01:24 PM
I'm going to be swapping my A2 upper receiver for a flattop. That's the receiver only, not the entire upper. All other parts with the exception of the FA and the dustcover will be re-used.

Do I need to headspace after the switch?

If you enjoyed reading about "Swapping receivers on an AR15" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
sarduy
April 11, 2010, 01:26 PM
in theory you don't have to... but it's always good to check

Zerodefect
April 11, 2010, 01:34 PM
Nope.

same bolt, same barrel and barrel extension......same headspace.

briansmithwins
April 11, 2010, 02:05 PM
Nope.

same bolt, same barrel and barrel extension......same headspace.

What he said.

OTOH, how long has it been since you checked your headspace? BSW

halfded
April 11, 2010, 02:24 PM
OTOH, how long has it been since you checked your headspace? BSW

Is that some kinda joke?

Just kidding! I just got the rifle back in November so it should be ok.

halfded
April 11, 2010, 07:32 PM
Any other opinions on the matter?

If you enjoyed reading about "Swapping receivers on an AR15" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!