.223 reload simple question


PDA






kestak
May 17, 2010, 08:29 AM
Greetings,

Simple stupid question.

I get my brass from a range. I decap.resize/trim/deburr/chamfer/cut primer crimp when needed then reload.

I sort all my brass by headstamp: FC, PMC, RP and all LC together.

When I shot the brass, I sort the brass by number times fired and headstamp.

I notices something: Because I trim my 223 at 1.250 when I shoot the brass and resize does not growth over 1.260 after at least one shot. I have a few brass with 3 shots and it still did not grow.

Do you always trim your brass after shot (in fact it is resize) and initial trim?

Thank you

If you enjoyed reading about ".223 reload simple question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
loadedround
May 17, 2010, 09:51 AM
I trim my 223 brass only when it exceeds maximum length. Most of the time I will ose ithem before trimming is needed. Yes, I do get at least 3 or 4 reloads from my brass after initial trimming.

NCsmitty
May 17, 2010, 09:53 AM
Because I trim my 223 at 1.250

I believe you mean 1.750.

You do not need to trim your brass every time that you shoot it, if you use normal loads. Trimming of range brass should be done initially, because range brass may include some that's out of spec.
The main reason to trim brass is to give you a base line for length so that your crimp, should you use it, is consistent. IIRC, chamber length of the 223 is around 1.783, so the brass would have to be super long to be a real problem in the chamber.



NCsmitty

kestak
May 17, 2010, 09:55 AM
Greetings,

Stupid fat fingers!!! Sorry for the typo on the lenght....:what:

Thank you

Walkalong
May 17, 2010, 10:02 AM
The first 3 or 4 firings it will strech enough that it is a good idea to trim each time. After that the streching slows down and you can usually get by with trimming every other firing, but I like to trim them each time anyway unless it is a small batch that I don't mind taking the time to measure them all.

That is for general plinking ammo.

For loads I am looking for accuracy from, I trim every time, regardless, but it is probably overkill.

SlamFire1
May 17, 2010, 10:09 AM
Do you always trim your brass after shot (in fact it is resize) and initial trim

Trimming is such a pain. Takes forever with Lee Trimmers, or lathe type trim tools. I used to watch entire Baseball National Championships, trimming, deburring cases. It took weeks to finish off 800 cases.

So I can understand the reluctance to trim cases. However, you either have to measure all cases, to verify that none are too long, or you just trim each time.

Early in my reloading experience, when calipers with vernier scales were $70.00 and l calipers with dials were $125, it took a lot of time to measure case length with the vernier caliper I owned. I found out early that cases grew the most the first firing, and they also grow unpredictably up to the tenth reload. I had a few overlong cases pinch the bullet in the throat and cause blown/leaking primers.

After that I decided to just trim each time after sizing. And that took forever.
However my life is much better now. I bought a Gracey trimmer and that was the best of its type till the Giraud came out. http://www.giraudtool.com/prod02.htm

With these power trimmers, it now takes less than 10 minutes, start to finish, to trim the 88 rounds I shoot in an Highpower rifle match.

I donít know the total time, or total case count, but I have trimmed five gallon buckets of brass with my Giraud in far less time than it took me to trim and deburr 800 cases.

Because of the speed by which I can now trim and deburr cases, I now do it each time the case is sized.

jmorris
May 17, 2010, 10:30 AM
I run every case through a 650 with a trimmer on it before I load. Many do not need this but I gather my brass mostly from matches so I don’t know what rifle it came from and it’s quicker for me to pull the handle than inspect with a case gauge or caliper.

cheygriz
May 17, 2010, 12:08 PM
I use a Forster case guage to measure. If it needs trimming, the guage will tell you.

Walkalong, are you using commercial or MilSurp brass?????

I use MilSurp, and usually get 3-4 firings after initial trimming. I usually load to duplicate M193 ball.

243winxb
May 17, 2010, 12:58 PM
You do not need to trim brass untill it reaches maximum lenght of 1.760". Then brass is trimmed back .010" to 1.750" If your using an RCBS X Die, you trim to 1.740" If you crimp your ammo, then trimming at each loading might be a better idea. When using range brass, even with the same headstamp, brass can grow at different rates. Check ever case for length.:scrutiny:

Walkalong
May 17, 2010, 02:34 PM
Walkalong, are you using commercial or MilSurp brass?????Both. I have been playing with 8 cases lately. 2 RP and 5 LC from 68 to 91.

I scrapped the LC 68 after 10 firings due to a loose primer pocket. Should have scrapped it after the 9th firing judging by the leakage around the primer.

The other cases are fine and show absolutely no internal or external sign of case head separation.

The loads have been .3 to .4 grs under a max in a manual up to .1 gr over what I settled on as OK for that brass weight.

I was working up a 55 Gr plinking load with different powders I may want to use since I have them in some quantity and are not using them for anything right now. (Tac, H322, N130) Gonna do some 2230-S also.

If you enjoyed reading about ".223 reload simple question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!