New Rifle Reloader

PDA

army_husbandky
May 18, 2010, 07:08 AM
Hello THR,

I am brand new to rifle reloading. Going to be reloading for Bushmaster A3 with 16" barrel. I got all the stuff I need to get the brass ready, got the dies, got the bullets (remington 55 gr (I know I could have gone heavier, but working on a budget right now)), going to be using CCI 400 primers. Now I am down to the powder. I have been looking at load data and comparing powders for three days now, and not sure what to go with. Got it down to four powders; Alliant 10X, Hodgdon Varget, IMR 8208 XBR, and Ramshot TAC. Can't decide on which powder to get.

Out of the four, what are your thoughts? Is there a powder that you would suggest that maybe I am over-looking? Any information that you could give me would be of great appreciation.

Thanks THR

If you enjoyed reading about "New Rifle Reloader" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ole farmerbuck
May 18, 2010, 07:10 AM
Of those choices, i like the 8208 and 10x. Both work great. A lot people say H335 but i have a lot better luck with Blc-2.

army_husbandky
May 18, 2010, 07:18 AM
Well, all the powder choices I have come up with are all for 24" rifles, I know through pistol reloading that the shorter the barrel, the quicker the powder burn needs to be. So if there is another powder out there that you have used that works well in a 16" barreled AR15, I would like to hear about it. Like I said, this is my first time reloading rifle, I would refer to my manuals, but all manuals are back in the states, been working with the reloading data that you get from the manufacturers websites. But please keep suggestions coming, as much info as I can get on the subject, the better.

Thanks again

JimKirk
May 18, 2010, 07:47 AM
I been using Reloder 10X under some 55 gr Hornady & Sierra bullets.