135 grain .40 Federal brand any good?

PDA

TheProf
May 21, 2010, 11:39 PM
Saw lots of this at my local Wally World. 135 grain .40 Federal brand...

Any comments on the quality of this round?

If you enjoyed reading about "135 grain .40 Federal brand any good?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
REAPER4206969
May 22, 2010, 12:07 AM
135gr. is way too light for serious use.

TheProf
May 22, 2010, 12:35 AM
But would not a 135 grain HP .40 still outperform a 130 grain .38+P defense load?

(I'm new with the .40 so please enlighten me. This is a learning process for me...)

Marshall
May 22, 2010, 12:42 AM
What does "outperform" mean to you?

Each to their own but I prefer a 155gr, minimally, in .40 S&W.

pacerdude
May 22, 2010, 12:58 AM
I have two boxes of it that I have been meaning to take to the range, mine are the frangible rounds in a white box.

I guess sooner or later I will find out how they shoot.

19-3Ben
May 22, 2010, 01:12 AM
I'm with Reaper and Marshal. I like 155gr and up in .40. Preferably 165 or 180gr.
But would not a 135 grain HP .40 still outperform a 130 grain .38+P defense load?

130gr .38spl would have a lot better sectional density than a 135gr .40cal. Therefore, all else being equal, the .38 would penetrate more.
Of course, in the real world, all else isn't always equal, so YMMV.

REAPER4206969
May 22, 2010, 02:29 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HALCn1czp4s&playnext_from=TL&videos=1Lspf4IUVxk

The Lone Haranguer
May 22, 2010, 06:46 AM
If you're seeing any ammo, period, in your Wal-Marts, you should probably jump on it. ;) There are more effective loads for defense in this caliber out there, though. A 135-grain is very light for this caliber unless also pushed to extra velocity to compensate, which I doubt this is.

EShell
May 22, 2010, 08:12 AM
The lighter bullets in the .40 S&W can be pretty snappy. The Federal load (#PD40HS4H) drives a 135 to 1,200 FPS.