How to get seating depth using your chamber?

PDA

scythefwd
May 27, 2010, 03:06 AM
Guys,
I'm very new to this, but I want to make sure I am doing this correctly. I want to seat my bullets just .003 of the lands/grooves. I am sure that the chambers I will be doing this to are a little loose (I need to get one go/no go gauged because I think it might be out of spec) in the tolerances. How do you guys go about determining how long your bullets can be? Do you flare a case mouth and put it in the chamber using the lands to seat the bullet and then back off from there? Are you making castings of your chambers and measuring? I haven't started assembling, just case prepping but I am curious.

Thanks
scythe

If you enjoyed reading about "How to get seating depth using your chamber?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
dagger dog
May 27, 2010, 06:26 AM
You mention flaring in your post, are you shooting a handgun? If yes I have never heard of anyone seating "off the lands" for a handgun.

May be you're shooting cast lead rifle bullets so you do have to flare for those to keep from shaving lead.

The proceedure for a bolt rifle is to use a fired non flared case and slightly push the side of the neck against the edge of the loading bench until there is enough tension to hold the bullet.

Use a black magic marker to color the bullet. Push the bullet in the case mouth just enough to hold it, chamber the test round and slowly close the bolt.

This will push the bullet into the lands. Carefully open the bolt and extract the test round, you can see if the bullet was pulled back out of the case because it was blackened , see if this happened, if it has push it back in the case up to the line where it was originally and measure the OAL and record this number.