Please explain "Leading"

PDA

juk
May 27, 2010, 09:30 PM
Ok, I am fairly new to reloading, but have been shooting 45 and 308 reloads with great success. Recently, I've been on a kick about getting my 45ACP loads just right instead of just going for a load in the middle of the pack. I have been loading Missouri's 200 grain "XD" bullet over 4.0 grains of clays. It is more accurate than factory blazer in my gun ( CZ 97), but is a tad smokey, It does have leading in about the first 1-2" of barrel. Loads have a medium crimp with Lee FCD.

So, I guess my question is: What causes leading? I know that leading in different locations in the barrel mean different things. What causes that? And, how would I go about reducing the leading in my barrel? I do have a pound of "Bullseye" but will have to wait a while until I order more bullets. Thanks for all of the help.

If you enjoyed reading about "Please explain "Leading"" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Robert101
May 27, 2010, 09:36 PM
Well, I'm not a chemist but lead has varying degrees of softness/hardness depending on the antimony present. A harder lead bullet is likely to have a higher melting point. The hot gases from the combustion of the powder cause primarily the base of the lead bullet to melt and deposit streaks into the barrel. A copper gas check is used to push lead bullets to a higher speed by lessing the amount of lead deposits. Some leading is not a bad thing. Just remove the lead after shooting and all is good.

243winxb
May 27, 2010, 09:53 PM
Leading by our definition is shearing. http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showpost.php?p=700845&postcount=18 My definition is when there is a loss of accuracy. Here is what Lee has to say about leading. Cast bullet leading

A clue to what is causing the leading is where the leading first begins to appear. If it appears near the chamber, chances are that bullet diameter or hardness are the cause.