Mosin Nagant 91/30 Loading Problems


PDA






15guns
June 20, 2010, 04:48 AM
I have a problem loading bullets into my rifle by hand. The bar that keeps the bullets in the magazine is very hard to get to move back so I can load a round in the magazine. I already fixed the new stock on my gun so that the bar can move freely. But what can I do to that bar to make it real easy to load the ammo in by hand? Can anyone help me?

If you enjoyed reading about "Mosin Nagant 91/30 Loading Problems" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
AH-1
June 20, 2010, 08:07 AM
http://7.62x54r.net/MosinID/MosinDisassembly.htm

make sure you didn't goof something up:confused:

fireman 9731
June 20, 2010, 10:26 AM
I have had some Mosins that load like butter and some that load like the battle of Stalingrad... I would first make sure that you have all the cosmoline cleaned out of it and that it isn't physically binding up on anything.

Second would be your loading technique. Are you placing a cartridge slightly forward of the rear of the magazine and pushing straight down?

Then check out the magazine itself. Open the floor plate, fully depress the springs with your fingers and pull the whole floorplate away from the hinge. (You will understand when you do it) Make sure thats clean and lightly lubed.

Lastly you may just have a rough gun that needs some smoothing out with emery paper in the right places.

nathan
June 20, 2010, 10:54 AM
My M 91.59 is like that , too, while my other mosins are butter smooth. I may have to disassembly the interruptor if that is the right term. And reassembly again and see if it works.

NMGonzo
June 20, 2010, 11:14 AM
Sometimes mine would feed fine, and sometimes I want to throw it like a spear.

Sebastian the Ibis
June 20, 2010, 11:21 AM
Make sure that the rim of the round you are loading is in front of the previously loaded rim. Make sure you slide the rims into that notch, use the bolt to slide it forward if necessary. Use the back of a bullet to push down on the bullet you are loading - I can't believe it took me two broken thumbnails to figure that part out.

15guns
June 20, 2010, 02:06 PM
I have cleaned the cosmoline off. I just think it needs to be filied down. Like the factory mest up on the clearances. Yeah it looks like I should take it apart and do some sanding or filing on it. I might need to buy a brass punch set now to take my gun apart. Atleast I already have a a brass hammer. : ) Thanks for the help.

Cosmoline
June 20, 2010, 02:13 PM
It sounds like the interrupter/ejector assembly has been reassembled improperly. First step is to take that apart and put it back together, making sure the interrupter is angled down and flexes back when pushed.

15guns
June 21, 2010, 12:55 AM
That part moves. It's just very stiff because the rim of the bullet case does not fit right so I'm sure that bar needs to be filed.

Cosmoline
June 21, 2010, 02:43 AM
It's very unlikely the interrupter needs to be filed down, if that's what you're talking about doing. It should be angled downward and sitting alongside the body of the cartridge. The rim should not be hitting it unless it's been assembled incorrectly. Can you take a picture?

RevDerb
June 21, 2010, 11:46 AM
I have cleaned the cosmoline off. I just think it needs to be filied down. Like the factory mest up on the clearances. Yeah it looks like I should take it apart and do some sanding or filing on it. I might need to buy a brass punch set now to take my gun apart. Atleast I already have a a brass hammer. : ) Thanks for the help.
Whatever you do, don't start filing. That gun undoubtedly operated fine when it was refurbed and put into storage. Look for things like, improperly re-assembled bolt, heavy dried up cosmoline in the receiver that just looks kind of like brown metal (get a bore light in there and look carefully), make sure that there are no other obstructions in the breach end of the barrel. Brass punch set to disassemble your rifle? This may get interesting. If all else fails, find someone who lives near you or a gunsmith to take a look at it. Again, DO NOT start filing away on it.

15guns
June 21, 2010, 12:02 PM
I am going to a gun smith today but I think he can only tell me how to take it apart. I seen the link of the mosin disassembled but to get the part I need off it looks tricky from what I've seen before. I don't think I need brass punches for that but I could be wrong. Maybe I should take it to the gun shop I bought it from and see what they say.

Cosmoline
June 21, 2010, 12:35 PM
Take it to the shop and compare the view of its interrupter/ejector with others in the store. That's the best way to see if there's something significantly screwed up with it.

If it comes to it, these parts are very easy to find and extremely cheap.

15guns
June 21, 2010, 12:50 PM
I just called the gun shop earlier. The salesman that sold me it told me to bring it in and they will look at it. Thanks for the help all. This thread is closed as of now.

sonier
June 21, 2010, 01:53 PM
try the stripper clips before loading one at a time, theres a slot for the stripper clip to sit on, i havnt read or seen any mosins that needed to go get checked out by the doc to work, yea some load better with sledgehammers and others effortlessly load.

15guns
June 21, 2010, 04:53 PM
I had stripper clips before. They need bending to work right. I tossed them out. Waste of money like the scout scope mount I bought for my rifle and a few other things I bought fot it so far. You love you learn. I took it to the gun shop today. It needs gun smithing the salesman said. He thinks it may just need polishing. We shall see.

Jeremy2171
June 22, 2010, 12:11 AM
I've had zero trouble with any of the 40 or so I've owned. Clips work fine if you are using REAL stripper clips not some chinese knock offs...

Some of my real ones...
http://i236.photobucket.com/albums/ff36/jeremy2171/armorystuff005a.jpg

The rims don't have to be one in front of the other or anything. Just push them straight down and they should load...same with using the clips...shove them straight down and smooth as butter...

15guns
June 22, 2010, 08:58 AM
The ones I bought were from cheaperthandirt. I can't use those clips on my rifle now anyways. I have a scope mount on it. I'll be happy if I can ever get that gun working right. I plan on posting a picture of it on here when it's fixed. Because I'm done building it for now. I might get a high power scope for it sometime. I just really bought it and upgraded it because I've been wanting a high power bolt action rifle for a while. I didn't need it and I will hardly ever use it. Yeah I wish that gun loaded smooth. Hopefully it will after that gun smith works on it.

15guns
June 25, 2010, 01:01 PM
I just got my rifle back from the gunsmith today. It turned out that I was just loading it wrong. I wish that rifle came with a instruction manual. The gun smith took the rear sight off for me and it ended up needing the scope readjusted and he even bore sighted it. They only charged me 50 bucks. I thought they would knock off the rear sight for free and fix that loading problem for free but oh well. That gun smith they had couldn't even tell me how to take apart my gun to file that one part down if I needed to do that. Well atleast all the bugs are worked out of it now. Should I post a picture of it since it's done?

highorder
June 25, 2010, 02:17 PM
How were you loading it wrong?

Zack
June 25, 2010, 03:12 PM
This is what I like to know...

dirtymike1
June 25, 2010, 03:35 PM
Jeremy, I hear you on good strippers. Its worth paying a littel extra hahahah


Ok, bad jokes aside. I picked up a hand full of them at a gun show and all but one were crap. I can't see any real difference between the good one and the rest of the lot but it's the only one that I still have since it's the only one that would load into my Mosin

Cosmoline
June 25, 2010, 04:17 PM
Re strippers I prefer the Tikka type with the extra latches. You load those using the top round as a rammer.

The more traditional strippers will work so long as they're stiff steel with nice sharp angles. The cheapo ones will sometimes "spit" a middle round out of the stack and towards the chamber.

15guns
June 25, 2010, 07:31 PM
I put the bullet cases in the slot for where the stripper clips are suppoused to go. I was suppoused to put them farther up. Either way that new monteo carlo stock was to much a of a pain to file to be able to let that ejector bar move enough so that I can load ammo. I spent maybe a hour filing and I still couldn't get it to load right. I was loading the ammo wrong unknowingly though. I still think I wouldn't of been able to get that bar to mopve back far enough if I was loading the ammo right with that new stockj on it unless I did hours more of filing. I got so pissed I just cut the plastic off the stock where the ejector bar is at so that I wouldn't have to spend anymore time wasted on filing that stock for hours just to get that ejector bar to go back far enough. That ATI monte carlo stock is a major pain in the butt to file right to get the gun to fight just right in it. Now after putting so much time and money into this mosin nagant and it still won't shoot good at 100 yards I will be buying a century arms cetme some time or another. Otherwise I will keep my gun if it's accurate enough for me at 100 yards. I still want a cetme regardless. That's probably the only gun I willl ever buy now. I've had 16 guns so far. All I have is 1 gun now. Just the Mosin Nagant. I'll post a picture of it sometime later.

15guns
June 26, 2010, 03:10 AM
I'm not gonna post my 3 pictures of my gun because they are to big.

15guns
June 26, 2010, 04:58 PM
If you want to see the 3 pictures of my rifle look at photobucket.com under
4x4allstar. That's my id on there.

If you enjoyed reading about "Mosin Nagant 91/30 Loading Problems" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!