DIY Target Retrieval

PDA

Smeg
June 23, 2010, 08:58 AM
I have a private outdoor range in the country (no electricity near for ~1/4 mile), and I'd like to build a poor man's target retrieval set-up.

Does anyone have any ideas that could help get me started? Maybe a link to guide on this very topic or something? I haven't turned up much after lots of Googling.

I was thinking about trying to rig up something with a bicycle frame & gears to manually crank the target back and forth or maybe purchasing a 12V motor and car battery to do it, but I've never done anything like this before, so I'm not sure of what materials I might need.

If you enjoyed reading about "DIY Target Retrieval" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Nushif
June 23, 2010, 09:00 AM
Just a rope and pulley system would probably work just fine, I imagine.

postalnut25
June 23, 2010, 09:04 AM
When I lived out in the sticks, we all walked our targets out, then walked back to shoot. We were to poor for anything else. Couldn't really afford ammo besides 22s.

loadedround
June 23, 2010, 09:06 AM
Walking is also good for your health. :)

jmorris
June 23, 2010, 09:09 AM
Auto reseting steel. Boostervision remote camera and a scroll type target?

Mp7
June 23, 2010, 09:10 AM
yeah, keep walking. Thatīll stop the antis from giving society the image
that pro-gun people are always pro-gigantic-beergut people :D

LeonCarr
June 23, 2010, 09:46 AM
Two old bicycle rims and some cable? Maybe attach a handle to the rim at the firing line to reel it back and forth?

I get most of my exercise walking 100 yards at a time :).

Just my .02,
LeonCarr

kingpin008
June 23, 2010, 09:59 AM
Unless you've got a HUGE range, why not just hoof it back and forth like some folks already suggested? Otherwise it seems like a bit of a waste to me.

Blackbeard
June 23, 2010, 10:45 AM