New Trigger for Chief's Special .38

PDA

procarryusa
June 25, 2010, 11:57 AM
I have a revolver and want to fine -tune a few things.

1. I want to lighten the heavy trigger pull.

2. I want to smooth the trigger pull. It tends to be quite sticky.

3. I want to replace the ribbed trigger with a smoother trigger.

What would I need to accomplish this project? I have no gunsmithing experience (unless installing a scope counts) but am good at following directions. Where would I get the parts?

Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "New Trigger for Chief's Special .38" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rcmodel
June 25, 2010, 12:25 PM
1. Wolff spring kit.
http://www.gunsprings.com/index.cfm?page=items&cID=3&mID=58#441

2. A total cleaning & re-lube with Outers Gun-Slick graphite grease while you are changing the springs.

3. You don't want a new trigger.
First, there is nothing wrong with the grooved trigger it comes with.
Second, a replacement trigger may likely have a worse pull then the one you have that is fitted & mated to the hammer DA sear, and rebound slide at the factory.
http://www.snubnose.info/docs/lockwork.htm

Without any prior experiance, I would not suggest you try any stoning or polishing of the internal parts. It is way easy to screw them up if you don't know what to do or how to do it.

You would be amazed what a couple thousand cycles with snap-caps will do towards smoothing up the action due to break-in. Also how strong your finger will get and how much less you notice the trigger pull!!

If you simply must have a smooth polished trigger, you do it yourself with a Dremel tool, a sanding drum to remove the grooves, and polishing wheels to make it sparkle.

There are a few tricks to correctly taking a S&W apart without damaging the side plate and other parts.
Suggest you get a gunsmith screwdriver set, and do some study before attempting it.
Sticky from revolver forum: