Looking for a wheelgun.

PDA

LHRGunslinger
July 14, 2010, 05:21 PM
I'm thinking of gettng a mid-range revolver to keep on my nightstand. Any suggestions? Keep in mind I am very new to revolvers and I can use all the help i can get.

If you enjoyed reading about "Looking for a wheelgun." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
sixgunner455
July 14, 2010, 05:35 PM
S&W Model 10, blue, 4" barrel.

There are other choices, many very good, but none better. None.

LHRGunslinger
July 14, 2010, 06:07 PM
I've shot the Model 64 4" barrel and rubber grips. I had a hard time controlling it but that was because I never shot a pistol before that.

md7
July 14, 2010, 06:10 PM
LHR,

i prefer the 4" barrel Ruger GP100 in either stainless or blued. if you do a search here on THR, you will find much praise, and little in the way of criticism (though there is some, as there will be in most any brand). they are accurate, affordable, and plenty tough. a few suggestions for you.......

Ruger GP100, 4"bbl, .357
Ruger "Six" Series (Security,Service, Speed) 4"- will have to get a used one
S&W models 10, 64 (.38 spl) or 19, 66, 27, 28, 586 (.357) all will have to be used
S&W models 686, 619, or 620, 4" bbl. .357

There are certainly NO dogs in this selection. if you buy used, please be sure to perform the revolver checkout method that is posted at the top of the revolver thread here at THR.

Good Luck!

md7
July 14, 2010, 06:13 PM
check local gun stores and pawn shops for some used examples. also, gunbroker.com is a pretty good source for both new and used firearms.

Confederate
July 14, 2010, 06:24 PM
You might consider a used handgun, and make it a .357 (it'll take .38s for home use). You didn't mention price, but I always recommend a 6-shot Ruger like a Speed-Six or Security-Six.