Truck gun on the cheap?

PDA

ILUVCOINS740
July 14, 2010, 10:19 PM
Ok i have a mosin i want planing to use as a truckgun to go with my handgun "ccw" just in case i need a longgun i am dont want to spend a lot of this "over 200" so what would you pick list or what other longgun should i look at

p.s. i like in the country if that helps

If you enjoyed reading about "Truck gun on the cheap?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
JoeMal
July 14, 2010, 10:20 PM
I have zero knowledge or experience with a truck gun, but a Mosin seems like a heavy one to be toting around. If you were to need it, the weight may effect your ability to handle it (or may not). It would definitely be in your $200 range, though

If you do go with a Mosin, KEEP THE BAYO ON IT! The BG will think twice about messing with you once you put a 3 foot knife in his face lol

Hunterdad
July 14, 2010, 10:20 PM
I have no idea what you're looking for here. Do you want a shotgun, handgun or rifle for a trunk gun?

wlewisiii
July 14, 2010, 10:22 PM
Try to find a bubba'd Mauser. There are lots of old rifles in 7x57 or 8x57 that can be found in the $150 - $200 range. I find the old military Mausers to be more enjoyable to shoot than the Mosin-Nagants but YMWV. 8x57 surplus is still reasonable to find as well.

janobles14
July 14, 2010, 10:33 PM
id have to go for the pump gun. with slugs you could extend the range if you wanted and have some versitility. but the break open would also be just fine.

gondorian
July 14, 2010, 10:36 PM
Look for a cheap sks (I know its pretty hard) or save an extra $100 and get a saiga.

seairland312
July 14, 2010, 10:37 PM
Speaking of Saiga AKs... anyone want one in .223?

Abel
July 14, 2010, 10:37 PM
Under $200? A 22 bolt action Marlin or Savage. If you can somehow manage to scrape up some more cash, get a Marlin 336 in 30-30.

Col. Plink
July 14, 2010, 10:46 PM