Nato ammo in cetmes


PDA






15guns
July 17, 2010, 12:39 AM
Does anyone on here that own Century Arms Cetmes use Nato ammo?

If you enjoyed reading about "Nato ammo in cetmes" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Jeremy2171
July 17, 2010, 12:43 AM
they all use NATO ammo....no reason why you shouldn't either...

Hatterasguy
July 17, 2010, 12:53 AM
Any rifle that can't shoot NATO stamped ammo isn't much of a rifle.

15guns
July 17, 2010, 04:47 AM
Well I have some wincester ammo for it now. I was trying to trouble shoot why my gun isn't feeding right. It looks like the magazine needs to be broke in enugh for t to feed all 20 rounds right. I can feed 17 rounds now but it's really tight on the 17th round.

Kwanger
July 17, 2010, 09:16 AM
Are you saying the rounds are tight and hard to load into the magazine? Or that if you have a full mag it won't strip them properly?

Sounds like it may be a mag fault, so if I was you I'd try a different magazine - no reason in the world not to, being as G3 aluminum mags are ridiculously cheap at 97c each - stock up on a few.

nalioth
July 17, 2010, 11:02 AM
I was trying to trouble shoot why my gun isn't feeding right.

Um, it's mangled (re)manufactured by Century?


Yes, you need more magazines. One magazine is a bad thing to have (they get lonely).

15guns
July 17, 2010, 01:11 PM
Yeah kwanger both preblems. Hard to load in the magazine and it won't strip rounds off that good and the more I have in it the harder it is for the action to strip them into the barrel.

15guns
July 17, 2010, 01:13 PM
Yeah I firgured I need a g3 mag. Plus a good cleaning would do.

Kwanger
July 17, 2010, 02:29 PM
Here you go, link the 97c ones. I run only these in my Cetme. You may need to give them a good whack when you first seat them, but they loosen up a little bit with use. Run flawlessly in mine. The only problem I ever had with the rifle was when using the beat up and worn out Cetme steel mag that came with the rifle.

http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/MAG304-36.html

nalioth
July 17, 2010, 02:55 PM
The only problem I ever had with the rifle was when using the beat up and worn out Cetme steel mag that came with the rifle. That's because Century uses G3 pattern receivers for all their G3/CETME builds. Steel CETME mags can be finicky in that situation.

Ingsoc75
July 17, 2010, 03:02 PM
Thanks for the link Kwanger. I've been meaning to try out a G3 mag on my CETME.

15guns
July 17, 2010, 11:09 PM
Yeah I used to have a 98 cent g3 mag. I actually started buying used g3 parts from cheaper than dirt and one other place because I was planning on building a g3 but then I started pricing the parts and was like screw that. Lol. I had over 126 bucks in parts. 1 used german navy trigger assembly with selective fire, a used g3 german hk mag, a new hk91 instruction manual, a used g3 stock set. I ended up throwing it all out eventually since building a g3 is to high for me and since I couldn't sell them for the right price on gunbroker. I hated throwing out hk parts. I couldn't even bring myself to do it at first. I holded up for like a couple of weeks before I ended up throwing them out. I'm probably the biggest heckler and koch fan there is. I used to have a new hk usp in 40 caliber and loved it.

15guns
July 17, 2010, 11:13 PM
Yeah century arms needs to stop giving those worn out old mags with their new rifles. Actually they should either get their new mags right or start buying hk mags and having them with their new guns. Even if they raise the price a little on their new guns it's still worth it if they make sure all the guns and mags work right before selling them.

Kwanger
July 18, 2010, 09:03 AM
They won't though....that's the thing with Century, its a bit of a crapshoot when you buy one of their rifles. Mine is great - solid and reliable, but I had to do some tweaking to get it right (sights and bolt gap). Also replaced the furniture for G3 stuff.

AFAIK Century do ship some Cetme's with a G3 mag - its just luck of the draw. As nalioth has pointed out, the receiver is patterned on a G3 well anyway. But at under a dollar per mag, its no big deal. Get some, then get it to the range and see how it shoots (after you check your bolt gap).

15guns
July 18, 2010, 03:19 PM
I just took it out to the range today to test it. I got 1 shot on paper at 25 yards then it jammed and I couldn't get it unjammed. It looks like I'll be sending my gun to century. I gotta drive 39 miles one way to the nearest range just so I can shoot that rifle. I'm glad I got a accurate rifle compared to the 7.62x39mm semi auto rifles I used to own. I got a 9 on the 1 shot I made at 25 yards standing with the factory sights on it. The rear one was set at 1. I was aimming for the bullseye but oh well. Heck I couldn't even see that I hit the paper until I went to go get my target. It was a nice surprise. : ) I had a nornico sks and mak-90 in 7.62x39mm and couldn't hit the blind side of a barn with that caliber. Thank God I finally learned enough about guns and got the right caliber this time. No 7.62x39mms or 5.56x45mms or less for me. Only 308 Wincester Baby All The Way. Ha Ha. : ) I'm on my 17th gun. It's the only one I own now.

Davek1977
July 19, 2010, 04:49 AM
OWning both an AK and Norinco SKS, I can assure you the caliber itself isn't necessarily the only possible factor in your accuracy issues. My Ak shoots "good enough (certainly a bullseye at 25 yards weouldn't be a shocker) and my SKS has collected several deer and other woods critters over the years. I'd rather have either an AK or SKS that functioned over a CETMe that didn't, myself. NEither my SKS nor the AK have ever done anything than go bang when I wanted them to......

15guns
July 19, 2010, 09:59 AM
Davek I love aks but in 308 win. : )

15guns
July 19, 2010, 10:08 AM
Century Arms is going to try to make things right. I just called them today.

If you enjoyed reading about "Nato ammo in cetmes" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!