Switching primers...


PDA






altitude_19
July 30, 2010, 05:19 AM
If you switch from one brand of primer to another, do you feel the need to re-work the load back up to what you had? For example, switching from Winchester LP to CCI LP: Would you start back at minimum load, or just keep using what you had?

If you enjoyed reading about "Switching primers..." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
JimKirk
July 30, 2010, 07:34 AM
Going from Win LP to CCI LP no, If I was going CCI to Win LP and loading border line Max loads, I may back down 2%, but not 10%. The WLP is rated for both regular and magnum loads.

Jimmy K

qajaq59
July 30, 2010, 07:53 AM
I just back it off a little and then come back up to accuracy. I don't start at the minimum however. It rarely seems to make a big difference in my rifles though.

loadedround
July 30, 2010, 07:58 AM
I've seen very little difference in switching various brands of pistol primers. However I'm not pushing through maximum loads and mixing or matching various brands of primers.

Walkalong
July 30, 2010, 08:12 AM
If you are not at max, don't worry about it. I haven't compared the WLP & CC 300 primers, but with the WSP & CCI 500 primers in bigger cases with lots of extra air space I have to up the powder .1 or .2 Grs with CCI to get the same velocity. In small cases where powder fills 95% of the air space it did not seem to make much difference.

bds
July 30, 2010, 08:46 AM
Loading for 9/40/45, Winchester LP/Wolf LP and Winchester SP/Magtech SP seem comparable to use the same charge load.

For PMC "E" SP, depending on the powder, I need to use on average about 0.2-0.3 gr more powder to be comparable to Winchester SP/Magtech SP.

If you enjoyed reading about "Switching primers..." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!