Is this brass ok to reload?

PDA

Rmeju
August 2, 2010, 12:28 AM
I'm just getting into 10mm and haven't shot any yet, but I know it's a high pressure round. I got some of this brass in a trade and there were some kind of markings near the case mouths that didn't clean up with tumbling (see pic). Is this just dirt that isn't coming off or is it a sign that this brass has seen its last safe reload?

EDIT: you have to look petty close in the pics to see the markings. I'm not the best photographer and I'm not totally sure how to get my camera to focus on the cases when they're super close up.

If you enjoyed reading about "Is this brass ok to reload?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ArchAngelCD
August 2, 2010, 12:53 AM
Those "marks" look like small indents. That said the position of the marks doesn't seen to be near a part of the barrel that won't be totally supported so I would have to "guess" they will be fine to shoot. If you are worried about them and that little voice in your head is telling you not to shoot them, don't shoot them. We usually get ourselves in trouble when we don't listed to ourselves.

Otto
August 2, 2010, 01:25 AM
Based on a out of focus photo of a case with an unknown history, I would say "maybe".

Orange Boy
August 2, 2010, 04:03 AM
I'd toss 'em.

Ed Gallop
August 2, 2010, 07:32 AM
I'd resize them and if the defects show I would not reload them. I'm an old man and wisdom has taught me to listen to the voice in my head without question. Brass isn't that expensive.

JimKirk
August 2, 2010, 08:01 AM
All cameras or lens really, have a minimum focus distance(MFD), find that distance in the manual. Stay at least that distance from the object and zoom in until in focus, with some lens the MFD changes with the amount of zoom.

Get a better photograph and then we would know more about your brass, as is, it would only be a WILD guess.

Jimmy K

rattletrap1970