Chronograh observations

PDA

jr_roosa
August 15, 2010, 05:08 AM
I got a Beta Master Chrony this week and have been playing with it at the range. It works well, and other than having a fantastically outdated user interface I am very happy with it.

Here's some stuff I found:

.30-30 loads in the Hornady manual run within 50fps or so for Win 748. Remington factory ammo also runs close to specification.

.38 Special loads in the Hornady manual for Bullseye and Power Pistol are also just about dead on (shot out of a 4" M19 compared to a 4" M10 in the manual).

For .357mag, the Hornady VV-N110 load is about 150fps slow out of my 4" barrel compared to the 6" test gun.

.45acp loads in the Hornady manual for Power Pistol and 230g HP-XTPs are WAY TOO HOT. I was running max loads that showed no pressure signs, but had some stout recoil and ejection, and they were running just over 1000 fps with one close to 1100 fps as opposed to the 900fps reported in the manual. Yikes. These were shot after WWB which was within 5 fps of factory spec, so I think that the numbers are real.

-J.

If you enjoyed reading about "Chronograh observations" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
JimKirk
August 15, 2010, 08:47 AM
What you "found" is how much your guns differ from the guns in the manual!!

Two of my shooting buddies have two Model 700 7mm mags exactly alike, the last serial number is 5 numbers apart. One shoots about 175 fps faster than the other using the same load.

Chronographs are fun to play with and will tell you what you gun and load is doing... nothing about anybody else unless they shoot over the same machine.

I enjoy my Pact Model 1 and use it to compare loads with my guns, one load to another.

Jimmy K

JDGray
August 15, 2010, 09:08 AM