Heck of a time finding scope bases for a Savage MkII.


PDA






Deus Machina
August 21, 2010, 01:33 AM
These are so common, why is it so hard to find bases labeled for it? :cuss:

Anyway, after my first 25-yard dime-sized groups with open sights, I've decided I can do even better if I can actually see the exact dot I'm aiming at.

Anyone know of mounts not labeled for it that will work?

If you enjoyed reading about "Heck of a time finding scope bases for a Savage MkII." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
cbrgator
August 21, 2010, 01:59 AM
My Mark II just has running grooves cut into the receiver so I can use any rimfire rings. Yours doesn't have that? Is yours drilled for regular bases/rings?

Deus Machina
August 21, 2010, 02:36 AM
Mine is a new el-cheapo non-accutrigger (one heck of a stiff trigger!), non-accustock model. I was surprised to find that, no, it doesn't have the usual 3/8" rimfire dovetail along the top. Smooth radius.

It does have factory-drilled holes for bases, though.

Norrick
August 21, 2010, 02:52 AM
not sure, my buddies mk ii came with bases installed. I am not actually sure if he can remove them if he wanted to.

not sure, my buddies mk ii came with bases installed. I am not actually sure if he can remove them if he wanted to.

I couldn't find a base listed on the warnes chart.

A google search came up with a calguns forum thread with people posting a few different options...

1) http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=401293 is listed as working with Mark II

2) http://egw-guns.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=280
looks like overkill, but read the bottom part, says only works with certain models

regal
August 21, 2010, 07:25 AM
My Mark II just has running grooves cut into the receiver so I can use any rimfire rings. Yours doesn't have that? Is yours drilled for regular bases/rings?


Mine has these grooves also, where the heck can you find rimfire rings?

JDGray
August 21, 2010, 09:44 AM
The weaver bases come on the rifle from the factory, the ones in the link above will work:)

Heavies
August 21, 2010, 11:54 AM
Rimfire Technologies from JoeBobOutfitters (http://www.joeboboutfitters.com/Savage_Rimfire_25MOA_Scope_Mount_p/rt13011.htm)
;)

CraigC
August 21, 2010, 12:11 PM
You can get the EGW bases for any configuration available. Just measure your ejection port. I think the new MKII's with the "E" receiver have a longer ejection port and will need the model 93 mount.

Or you can call Savage and order the factory two piece mounts.

52grain
August 21, 2010, 12:56 PM
I had a hard time finding bases for one of mine. They appear to be supplied from the factory in one of three ways:

-Grooved receiver- use rimfire rings
-Receiver drilled and tapped, supplied with Weaver style bases
-Receiver drilled and tapped, but no bases

One of mine was supplied with the last option. Weaver does list bases specifically for the Mark II and a separate set for the 17 cal Model 93 even though the outward appearances are the same. The model 93 bases are easier to find around here, and that is the route that I went, but I've had trouble with both scopes that I've installed on that gun.

CraigC
August 21, 2010, 01:34 PM
Here's the scope mount sticky at RFC:

http://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=115839

cbrgator
August 21, 2010, 01:51 PM
Mine has these grooves also, where the heck can you find rimfire rings?
Mine came with rings, but I know walmart sells some.

If you enjoyed reading about "Heck of a time finding scope bases for a Savage MkII." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!