Could this affect the accuracy on my BAR?


PDA






hometheaterman
August 24, 2010, 04:56 PM
So I'm sure most of you are familiar with my Browning BAR accuracy issues. I've asked for many suggestions, and tried all of them, as well as everything I can come up with and this thing shoots about 3-4" groups most of the time even with hand loads. Anyway, I'm about to send it to Browning, but I'm afraid that they won't do anything and I will waste my shipping money. One last thought I had, is I have been keeping the barrel squeaky clean, but haven't done a thorough cleaning on the gas system as it functions fine. Could the gas system being dirty cause accuracy issues? Or would it only cause functioning issues?

If you enjoyed reading about "Could this affect the accuracy on my BAR?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rcmodel
August 24, 2010, 05:03 PM
NO, you don't want to mess with the BAR gas system.
The gas regulator valve is set at the factory for proper function, and tampering with it can lead to "A Series of Unfortunate Events".
Trust me!

It would be very unlikely to have any effect on accuracy anyway.

Just by chance, have you ever tried cleaning it with a good Copper Solvent?

My dentist brought me his 7mm Mag BAR a couple of years ago saying it would not group at all.
He was right!

I spent two days cleaning the all jacket fouling out of it with copper solvent and was getting Sub-MOA with two different factory loads when I gave it back to him.

rc

briansmithwins
August 24, 2010, 05:18 PM
have been keeping the barrel squeaky clean

Have you tried groups with a dirty barrel?

BSW

hometheaterman
August 24, 2010, 05:34 PM
Tried groups with a dirty barrel and they only get worse. I've also used a copper solvent and gotten it super clean so that no blue or anything is coming out on the patches. The patches come out looking new. Made no difference.

jmorris
August 24, 2010, 05:42 PM
Anyway, I'm about to send it to Browning, but I'm afraid that they won't do anything and I will waste my shipping money.

I bet your fears will become reality, if you do. What rifle do you have that shoots acceptable to you, what is it and how does it shoot?

hometheaterman
August 24, 2010, 07:16 PM
I've got another rifle, that's a bolt action and I consistently get .5" groups with it at 100 yards if using hand loads. It gets more into the .8-.9" groups with cheap Federal Power Shoks. To me this is way more than acceptable. I'd be happy with anything under 2" from the BAR as I realize it is a semi auto. However, 3-4" groups are not acceptable. Sometimes they are bigger than that. I sat up a target at 100 yards and the target is 8" in diameter and shots are all over the target. Often times when done shooting a group they measure around 4" though.

I've read a couple reports of guys sending their guns to Browning for this issue and the rifles coming back tack drivers. Most said that Browning didn't charge them anything. However, I've read of one or two others where the guns came back shooting the same or worse than when they sent it in.

So what's the general opinion on this? Should I send it in to Browning? I've done everything I can think of to it as well as have gunsmiths in this area check it out and nothing has helped at all.

jmorris
August 24, 2010, 08:33 PM
I thought in an earlier post you said it grouped well except the first shot from a cold barrel.?

hometheaterman
August 24, 2010, 08:39 PM
Well, it did with some some ammo. Other ammo was all over the place. It's often throwing a shot which greatly increases group sizes. I changed the forearm to another one that fits tight and isn't loose at the receiver end, and now, it doesn't seem to throw the first shot, however, it doesn't really group well at all at anytime. So I'm just not sure what the heck is going on and if the group I shot that grouped well after the first shot each time was a fluke, or what.

jmorris
August 24, 2010, 09:09 PM
If it shot well with some ammo you were on to something and your change has you going in the wrong direction. I know if it were me and I sent it back that would be the ammo Browning used and they would conclude it shot within their standards. Have you contacted them to see what they call "acceptable"?

How about removing the forearm and resting on the floor plate for a group?

Flukes are not repeatable by definition.

hometheaterman
August 24, 2010, 11:04 PM
They said I should get at least 2" groups and I don't. I've not tried shooting it without the forearm.

As for the ammo I shot that threw each shot high on a cold barrel, but grouped the others I only loaded up 8 rounds of the ammo, so I only had 8 shots. I've shot others and had holes touching on two shots, and the other 3 shots of the group been way off. So I'm not sure if it just grouped as I got lucky or not. I tried this same load, with the next forearm and it didn't throw the first shot, but shot all over the place like usual.

pbrktrt
August 25, 2010, 11:50 AM
Have you tried different magazines? They can affect accuracy on semi-autos.

hometheaterman
August 25, 2010, 12:44 PM
No I haven't, but how would the magazine affect the accuracy?

Also I've read on several other sites that the forearm screw torque is critical. They said to tighten it to 65 in lbs. I don't have an in lbs torque wrench, nor do I see how you could get a socket on this thing to tighten it. I'm having to use an open end wrench as both sides are flat so you can use a wrech, however, it's not round and it's longer than it is wide so a socket won't fit on there unless you get one bigger than what you need, then it will just slip on it. So using an open end wrench should I tighten it just barely snug, or should I crank down on it or what?

pbrktrt
August 25, 2010, 05:32 PM
I'm not positive but I believe different magazines put different pressure on the bolt and can change accuracy sometimes to a great degree. I don't know what they cost for the BAR but if not too bad it might be worth the investment to compare results. Besides, an extra one or two is never a bad thing.

hometheaterman
August 25, 2010, 10:12 PM
With this other forearm, I thought it was loose too, but once I tried it, it's fairly tight. I did notice one one side it can move maybe a 1/16th of an inch. Just barely, but it's not like it moves and feels loose like the other one. You can just barely see it move, but it feels solid and tight. Is it normal for these? Or are they super tight and no movement at all and it rock solid?

Uncle Mike
August 25, 2010, 11:09 PM
How many rounds have been sent through your BAR?

If you enjoyed reading about "Could this affect the accuracy on my BAR?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!