Pros and Cons of the .45 GAP

PDA

EdLaver
August 27, 2010, 12:08 PM
Thinking about a new Glock 38 for carry, what are your thoughts on this cartridge for CC? Currently I go between several choices for CCW:

Glock 29
Citadel 1911 compact
Bersa .380 Thunder
Taurus Slim 9mm

Actually thinking about dropping the two smaller calibers on the list. I'm a big guy (6'3, 255lbs) and I like carry big calibers. The .45 GAP always intrigued me, but I don't know anyone who owns one. So, other than internet info I have no other knowledge other than fondling one at a gun show and liking the feel and compactness.

If you enjoyed reading about "Pros and Cons of the .45 GAP" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Strahley
August 27, 2010, 12:38 PM
For what it's worth (probably not much) here are my two cents

G38 - Great size (love the G19 style frame), but I'm not a fan of .45 GAP. Round for round, yes the caliber is fine, no problems there. I don't like the capacity/size ratio of the GAP Glocks. If I'm taking a gun that big, I want more than 8+1 rounds. A G19 will give you 15+1 of 9mm, and a G23/32 will give you 13+1 of .40 or .357 SIG. For me, having a .45 isn't that important (I'm not one of the sheep who think .45 is the only viable choice) so I'd rather have a good mix of caliber/capacity

G29 - Too fat for MY likings, and I don't want to carry 10mm. It's overkill for self defense, and cases have been lost because a lawyer convinced the jury that 10mm is too powerful for an honest person, and they were just out looking to blow somebody away