Does the Ruger MK III with fixed sites shoot to point of aim?


PDA






G.A.Pster
August 31, 2010, 04:20 PM
I was looking at the Ruger MK III with fixed sites, and I like the feel of it. (I donít like the BB ones).

My question is does it shoot to point of aim with the unadjustable sites it has?

If you enjoyed reading about "Does the Ruger MK III with fixed sites shoot to point of aim?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
NavyLCDR
August 31, 2010, 04:29 PM
That would depend entirely upon the distance you were shooting at, the weight of the bullet, the powder charge, atmospheric pressure and possibly the phase of the moon.

soloban
August 31, 2010, 04:29 PM
I've got a MkIII 22/45 w the adjustable sights and I've not once adjusted them other than to swap out the front sight with a fiber optic model.

benderx4
August 31, 2010, 04:38 PM
I've got the Mark III Hunter and at 25 yards, POA = POI.

(Now only if cleaning it was just as easy as shooting it.)

doc2rn
August 31, 2010, 05:03 PM
I have a standard, Mk I, II, & III most of the time they shoot a hair low for me at 50 yds on an indoor range.

gb6491
September 1, 2010, 12:10 PM
My question is does it shoot to point of aim with the unadjustable sites it has?
The rear sight is adjustable for windage (it can be moved left or right in it's dovetail).

In regards to elevation: as mentioned, "That would depend entirely upon the distance you were shooting at, the weight of the bullet, the powder charge, atmospheric pressure and possibly the phase of the moon."
If you want to use a particular load at a particular distance, elevation can be permanently changed by modifying the sights:
If it shoots low, reduce the height of the front sight (file it down).
If it shoots high, reduce the height of the rear sight (again, file it down)

...or you can replace the rear sight with an adjustable LPA TPU sight from PSI (http://www.precisionsights.com/Product/TPU_product_page.html).

Regards,
Greg

tlen
September 1, 2010, 03:23 PM
Spend a little more and get an adjustable sight model that comes drilled and tapped for a scope base that is included. You never know when you might want to try a red dot scope.

SGW42
September 2, 2010, 12:20 AM
My fixed sight MkII standard did not shoot POA. I had to drift it a bit to the side. Not a big deal.

TriTone
September 2, 2010, 10:57 AM
If not, you've always got the hammer to persuade them...

Oceans
September 2, 2010, 11:08 AM
Yeah, get the adj. sight version I have the MkIII with the 5 1/2 bull barrel, very accurate pistol for the money.

If you enjoyed reading about "Does the Ruger MK III with fixed sites shoot to point of aim?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!