Picked up a S&W 629-6 (.44 Magnum) yesterday at the local gun show.

PDA

jrb_pro
October 5, 2010, 12:30 AM
Brand new. $549. :cool:

I thought it was a really good deal.

For you .44 guys, what is your preferred load for hunting (white tail), for the range, and for personal protection? I'm new to the caliber, so just wanted to ask (and before you ask, yes, I have shot .44s before...just never owned one).

https://files.me.com/jamesryanbell/tfpuhq

https://files.me.com/jamesryanbell/eq6sti

If you enjoyed reading about "Picked up a S&W 629-6 (.44 Magnum) yesterday at the local gun show." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Buck Snort
October 5, 2010, 03:43 AM
Looks to me like you got a really good deal there. For SD I'm partial to the Cor Bon 165gr JHP that I've clocked out of my 4" 629 at 1300 fps.

jrb_pro
October 5, 2010, 03:49 AM
I'll check out that ammo. Thanks for the reply! :)

youngda9
October 5, 2010, 03:53 PM
That's a great deal. I picked up a pre-lock 629-4 classic 6" for $500...with tax and shipping(bought it out of state) and FFL fees it cost me $575 total which was still a sweet deal.

Just starting to shoot mine. Bought an X-grip for it because that exposed metal backstrap just hammers your hand. I've yet to shoot it with the new grip. Sweet gun!

racine
October 5, 2010, 06:30 PM
Wow, Wow!

huntershooter
October 5, 2010, 07:02 PM
A 6" mod. 629 is a good hunting revolver. Mine happens to a be 4" example.
I use a cast WFNGC (wide, flat nose, gas check) 255 gr. bullet over a charge of 2400 powder for 1200+ FPS (4" barrel).
This is the accuracy load from my gun and is a handful.

Something you might check if yours is a 629-6:
The chamber throats on mine were "stupid tight" from the factory; .4275" from memory. A jacketed .429" bullet would not pass through the throats with finger pressure.