S&W .32 safety hammerless information needed???

PDA

Curiosity
October 5, 2010, 02:14 AM
Hello!
I am very new to all of this. I recently acquired a .32 safety hammerless from my elderly aunt and have no idea how old it is or if has Amy value. It is blues, with a 3.5" barrel, with what appears to be black hard rubber grips. Serial number is 147XXX. From what I can tell, it is in amazing condition, with all the stamps along the top if the barrel. Not a spot of rust or other corrosion. The barrel sight is pinned. If it is helpful, I can try to upload a photo or 2. Any help would greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "S&W .32 safety hammerless information needed???" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Radagast
October 5, 2010, 08:33 AM
Curiosity:
The .32 Safety Hammerless 2nd Model was manufactured between 1902 & 1909 in the serial range 91418 to 170000.
The 3.5 inch barrel was a standard length, the grips should be checkered hard rubber with S&W monograms.
In 2006 the Standard Catalog of S&W gave a value of $450 for as new, $300 for excellent condition.
For more current pricing you will need to check online auction sites such as gunbroker, auction arms and guns america.
You can still find .32 S&W ammunition available, try old western scrounger online if your local gunshop doesn't stock it. You don't want .32 S&W Long however, it will not fit.

Curiosity
October 5, 2010, 09:40 PM
Thanks, the information helps.

Is there any reasonable market for these or should I hold onto it as a collectible that may never be worth THAT much?

Radagast
October 6, 2010, 08:56 AM