Birth of a blade

PDA

messerist
October 5, 2010, 08:18 PM
There have been a few members here expressing an interest in making their own knives. I have been making knives for a little over twenty years and do almost all of my work by hand. I was thinking of posting a thread here on how I make my knives so I forged out a blade from a very old and rusty leaf spring. It looked like it came off the first car ever invented according to my eight-year old son. I apologize for not having any photos of me forging the blade but I was the only one home at the time and simply can't forge and take pictures simultaneously. What I plan on doing is recording and posting the steps I take to make a blade from a rough, annealed blank through to the final fit in its sheath. I hope this is OK with the moderators. If not please let me know. This will be a project covering several months so sit back, relax and enjoy. Here is the first installment, the rough blade blank. Constructive criticism and suggestions are welcome during the process as well as any questions one might have. And awaaay we go!
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/tt204/messerist/firststep001.jpg

If you enjoyed reading about "Birth of a blade" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
MattTheHat
October 5, 2010, 08:50 PM
^^^^^bookmarking

Can't wait!

-Matt

19-3Ben
October 5, 2010, 09:47 PM
This is gonna be a good one. I can feel it.

I can't imagine the mods having a problem with it. this is the sort of thing that knife guys on this board salivate over.

I can tell you right now, I'm already fascinated.

hso
October 5, 2010, 10:42 PM
Did you have to forge the tang down or did you profile before forging?

messerist
October 6, 2010, 05:57 AM