Most accurate .308 rifle

PDA

spook22
October 7, 2010, 10:14 PM
Hey looking to get the most accurate long range .308 rifle for less than $1,000. I am going to use this as mostly a target gun out to 400 yards, or more possibly. Thanks guys

If you enjoyed reading about "Most accurate .308 rifle" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
TonyAngel
October 7, 2010, 10:31 PM
Most accurate and under $1000? I'm new to bolt guns personally, but have seen lots at the range and have shot quite a few of them. The most popular are either the Savage or Remington 700 in some flavor of tactical or varmint model. Just keep in mind that it won't do anything that you aren't capable of.

JDMorris
October 7, 2010, 10:44 PM
truth, i woud suggest a howa m1500 sporter .308
mine shoots sub moa ususally.
and they cost 550.
and can be upgraded like crazy.

kis2
October 7, 2010, 10:56 PM
snipercentral actually has a pretty comprehensive list of rifles with great accuracy and usually list a street price, you might look around there for a little while. http://www.snipercentral.com/rifles.htm

I would concur that most .308 bolt actions I see are 700 or savage heavy barrels. howa or weatherby could certainly be an option, but if your budget without glass is 1k, I'd be looking into the remingtons and savages. If that was your budget WITH glass, I would still be looking at some of the cheaper remington 700's, as most of their heavy barreled actions are nearly, if not, the same.

good luck!

WNTFW
October 7, 2010, 11:02 PM
Is the $1k rifle only or does it include scope?

Consider a .223 also. Slightly more economical to shoot. Used can be a good way to save some money.

Weatherby Vanguard is Made by Howa & deserves a look.

Handloading may be worth it to you.

TonyAngel
October 7, 2010, 11:14 PM
Yeah, .223 is definitely an option and will do 400 yards pretty easily. It's also cheaper to buy and load for.

WNTFW