I want to shoot competition pistol, what gun to buy?

PDA

obsessedwithrc
October 13, 2010, 01:02 PM
Hi, I am very confused:confused:, I am looking for a good cheap pistol for competition
shooting, i am not sure of which rules I want to shoot under, and I could use some advice on that to. I am just getting started in competition and really don't know alot about it, so I need something that I can get started in.
A lot of people say glock is the best for that, but a lot say it's not also.
I would have to buy a used glock because of my budget, and I don't know
what caliber to get either I was thinking 9mm because the ammo is cheaper but will consider others as well.

Thank you for your time....Ezra

If you enjoyed reading about "I want to shoot competition pistol, what gun to buy?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
MrBorland
October 13, 2010, 01:20 PM
Welcome

I'm assuming you don't yet know which form of competition you're interested in, so my advice would be to get something that's as versatile, reliable, simple to use and economical to operate as possible. To me, that means either a 4" .357mag or .38spl service-size double action revolver or a 9mm service-sized stricker-fired semi-auto (e.g. Glock 17 or S&W M&P). Since you posted this in the Revolver subforum, I'll make the pitch for a double action revolver. Here's a link to my recommendations about getting into competitive revolver shooting as economically as possible:

http://www.thehighroad.org/showpost.php?p=6700584&postcount=4

Like the M15s in the link above, you'd probably be able to find an affordable used LEO Glock or M&P trade-in somewhere. Couple of mags, mag holders, holster, and you're set to start practicing.

obsessedwithrc
October 13, 2010, 01:34 PM
maybe I put this thread in the wrong place. I am not really interested in revolvers, but in semi auto pistols. I was thinking about getting the S&W Sigma Series 9mm