New primed brass ??


PDA






Steve H
October 15, 2010, 03:48 PM
I "inherited" 1200 pcs. of .45 ACP new (unfired) primed brass. It's still in the Remington boxes. Is there a need to remove the decaping pin in my sizing die and size this? It's never been taken out of the factory boxes.

If you enjoyed reading about "New primed brass ??" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
dc.fireman
October 15, 2010, 04:12 PM
in short, Yes.

Remove the pin, if you intend to resize them (best practice).

If you don't intend to resize them (which I have done in the past), don't take the pin out.

I used Remington Pre-primed brass for sometime, and only had a few issues in 400 rounds where I needed to resize the case - because it was slightly out of round.

From experience though, I can tell you that you may need to expand/ bell the case mouths on them - some of them are a little tight when it comes time to seat them, and of course, by then, you've already added your powder to the case...

-tc

Hondo 60
October 15, 2010, 07:37 PM
Ya, just for ease of use I'd take the pin out & resize. Like dc said, I've had some new brass out of round too.

If you enjoyed reading about "New primed brass ??" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!