looking for utility rifle

PDA

gascon
November 9, 2010, 04:30 PM
Hello, first time posting but have been poking around a while.
I need to get a larger farm rifle, currently I use my BL-22 for most chores.
We have a lot of small stock (goats, ducks, turkeys) that are attracting night visitors : coyote, fox and roaming dogs.
This rifle needs to be no longer/heavier then 39 inches and maybe 7 pounds.
Should hold 5 or more rounds. I do not want an AR platform, saiga, Marlin 1894, or .223. It needs to carry well, not mind getting wet and point like a shotgun. I have 8 years of AR carrying experience and don't care for its feel. I load 9mm, .38/.357, .44 and 30-06, so getting a reloading required round is not an issue. I have looked at the new production Ruger 77/44's but figured it would be too slow for serving a defensive role if need be but otherwise like it. Its primary purpose is do put down 50lb or less animals at close range with authority but it would be nice to serve against bipeds as well. Thats where I start to think Mini but I don't care for the offered chamberings. I've looked and tried to decide but need some opinions, prefer to keep price below $800, thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "looking for utility rifle" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
thunder173
November 9, 2010, 04:35 PM
Marlin 336 in 30/30,....Winchester 94,....both Marlin and Winchester,..or even Win clones could be had in .357/.44 mag pistol caliber carbine/riflles,....the SKS in 7.62 x 39, ...the Ruger Mini Thirty or Mini 14,....all come to mind.

I also have a Remington 7615 pump action patrol carbine in .223/5.56 that takes AR mags which would fit that bill very nicely.....but,...you mentioned no .223..........ymmv

jon86
November 9, 2010, 04:47 PM
I haven't shot one, but I handled a remington 7600 30-06 carbine. It's got nice rifle sights and it's HANDY.

OR
12 gauge pump?

deafdave3