Whats your pick ? Armalite vs Colt in Standard 20 inch

PDA

nathan
November 10, 2010, 11:29 PM
Armalite

http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/36_135/products_id/11526

Colt

http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/36407

In terms of fit and finish, quality of metal esp the bolt carrier, barrel, smoothness of trigger , etc. Customer service...

If you enjoyed reading about "Whats your pick ? Armalite vs Colt in Standard 20 inch" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Z-Michigan
November 10, 2010, 11:41 PM
That particular Armalite (and most current production Armalites) has a 2-stage trigger that will be noticeably better than the standard AR trigger on the Colt.

Armalite customer service is great. I have no experience with that of Colt.

Armalite fit and finish is great, but I would expect about the same from Colt.

Colt is the original maker and one of the US government contractors, so there is the potential for better quality in areas you can't see like metal types, etc. If you look up "the chart" Armalite falls short of Colt, in areas relevant to the 20" rifles, only in doing batch testing of parts rather than each and every part testing.

http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pwswheghNQsEuEhjFwPrgTA&single=true&gid=5&output=html

Armalite makes good barrels and it might be better than the Colt, but no guarantee.

All in all I would lean a bit toward Armalite but both should be great.

nathan
November 11, 2010, 12:14 AM
While researching on Colt , this is on youtube. Amazing how they fired so many rounds on this FA version. It does show the quality of Colt.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kzfm4pYhIyY

FlyinBryan
November 11, 2010, 01:52 AM
Colt is the original maker

i always thought armalite was actually the original makers?

madcratebuilder
November 11, 2010, 06:35 AM
Quote:
Colt is the original maker