tell me what to expect from my new optics!!


PDA






coug
November 12, 2010, 09:35 PM
Alright I just bought my scope rings and mounts for my new build. I bought a vortex viper 6.5-20x50 with tally picatiny rail with 20 minutes and lupold rings. did I do okay? I have always shot lupold and nikon optics. how do I learn to dope my scope? can this scope track back? I have never shot with tactical methods. please educate me.

If you enjoyed reading about "tell me what to expect from my new optics!!" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
TonyAngel
November 12, 2010, 09:43 PM
I won't comment on how to learn dope. I'm new to it too. I've just taken my rifle out with my standard load and set targets out at 50 yards intervals and took note of where the bullet hits.

As for the Vortex, that's one hell of a scope. I've shot with that exact scope on a buddy of mine's rifle. The first time I looked through it, I had to pick my head up and take note of what it was.

coug
November 12, 2010, 10:08 PM
thanks. is there any web sites to learn how to dial your scope in? I have a range finder that works well. but I don't have a clue as to figure out how to know where to turn the turret to shoot at whatever distance . I have read a lot of threads and reviews on this scope and they where 99% positive. I like the warrenty also.

twofifty
November 12, 2010, 10:26 PM
Look around demigodllc.com
There is a great article on long range optics and their use.

TonyAngel
November 12, 2010, 10:31 PM
Well, you really have to know your round for dialing in. You have to know how much it drops out to the maximum distance that you are going to be shooting. For example, with my load, which is a 168gr SMK over 44gr of Reloader 15 (I only know this to be safe in MY rifle), I have to dial in (if I remember right) 15 minutes of elevation, which on my scope is 60 clicks or 1.5 revolutions for 600 yards.

coug
November 12, 2010, 10:45 PM
okay I thought there might be a lazy way to do it. I have to fire form my brass before I get to serious but I thought I could play with it while fire forming. I have a range to shoot at that goes out to 1000 yds but I have never shot that far what do you guys think about the base and rings? I have always used lupold duel dove tails so im new to the picatiny stuff.

Maverick223
November 12, 2010, 11:46 PM
Alright I just bought my scope rings and mounts for my new build. I bought a vortex viper 6.5-20x50 with tally picatiny rail with 20 minutes and lupold rings. did I do okay? I have always shot lupold and nikon optics.Sounds like a nice equipment list you have put together. Depending upon the cartridge used you should have no difficulty (as far as equipment) pushing it out to 1k yds.

how do I learn to dope my scope?Practice, lots of practice. As has been said, you need to get to know your round and load, specifically the drop and most importantly the windage (though there are other factors that play a part these are the primary considerations). The advice to seek help from Zak @ demigodllc.com is something you should heed...he knows LR precision shooting better than I.

can this scope track back?All the Vortex optics I have played with tracked well, and were repeatable.

:)

coug
November 13, 2010, 08:56 AM
thanks I will go and look him up. the round is the 6.5-06 AI. I hope it turns out to be a good choice. thanks for all the help guys. im realy glad I stumbled on to this site here where I live I am the local authority on guns and shooting its nice to have a place to get help and learn from all yall.

Maverick223
November 13, 2010, 12:03 PM
The 6.5-06A-Square (especially the AI version) is a barrel burner, but it has good ballistics and should get you out there...way out there...with relative ease. Good luck with your new LR setup...let us know how it does.

:)

Skylerbone
November 13, 2010, 01:31 PM
Coug, you refer to "track back" and I'm thinking you're not talking about the accuracy with which the scope tracks but rather if it is equipped with a zero stop. A mechanical version is doubtful (couldn't say on your model, perhaps someone else knows). This allows you to twist elevation and windage back to your original "zero" which is helpful if under stress you have made adjustments or "doped the scope" for a shot but did not record what you did.

Make sure you mount it square with the rifle and DO NOT over tighten the rings. Extend the rings as much as possible from the center of the scope for support and zero from the best support you can find.

Once zero is achieved, look around for some ballistics charts to find bullet drop (Hornady.com has a calculator if you know bullet weight, ballistic coefficient and muzzle velocity). If you're zero is 100 yards and the chart says bullet drop is 2" at 200 yards you'll dial up 2" on your scope. Assuming 1/4" MOA adjustment, you'll click 4 up (200 yards doubles adjustments). Verify that distance and log it. You may find the chart isn't spot on for your rifle but that cheat sheet can be taped to your rifle or you can add a pull-out chart that attaches to your scope.

As far as equipment I concur on quality with the possible exception of your rings. Unless you've bought Leupold Mark IV rings you have a 1913 rail and Weaver sized rings. This will give you some slop in fit (Weaver cross slots are narrower than 1913). That can allow for movement in the cross slot and non-repeatable zero if removed.

You'll know which type you have if when you place a single ring in the base there is movement front to back before tightening. (I believe Talley makes both Weaver and 1913 rails so your combo may be fine).

Best of luck, all else seems like a great package.

coug
November 13, 2010, 02:06 PM
thanks for that info, yes they are mk-IV rings. do you guys use a torque wrench when you mount a scope or just tighten till it feels good? how important is that? I have always just tightened them till I thoght it was good and never had trouble but I have never shot over 600 yds. I can't wait to try.

Maverick223
November 13, 2010, 02:25 PM
Coug, you refer to "track back" and I'm thinking you're not talking about the accuracy with which the scope tracks but rather if it is equipped with a zero stop.To the best of my knowledge, none of the Vipers (excluding the PSTs) have a zero stop. I don't believe you can "align" the zero either (but I may be wrong WRT this particular model), so it would be best to mark the position and remember the no. of turns to return to zero.

do you guys use a torque wrench when you mount a scope or just tighten till it feels good? how important is that?I have never had any problems with hand tightening, but I torque the fasteners properly on most rifles to prevent movement without risking damage to the scope. The FAT wrench does a decent job, though Seekonk tools are a bit more exacting (but also more costly).

:)

coug
November 13, 2010, 02:36 PM
thank you I have given it thought to buy one. so ill just go do it..

Skylerbone
November 13, 2010, 05:08 PM
Excellent suggestion by Maverick, while you're at it grab some blue Loc Tite or Uncle Mike's Gun Tight NOT THE RED STUFF! Place a drop on each screw and you're done.

Coug, might we see a picture? Always more fun that the wall of text I inevitably post;-)

I have several sets of Leupold rings and I'm in the process of replacing them with A.R.M.S. #22 Throw Lever Rings. My first set went on a 700 BDL and have held zero beautifully. The other benefit is that optics can be removed for cleaning/ swapping to other rifles/ transport, etc. I would have spent half the money on Leupold QRWs but they are only available in Weaver style and the Mark IVs aren't quick release. Just food for thought.

JimKirk
November 13, 2010, 05:53 PM
http://www.jbmballistics.com/ballistics/calculators/calculators.shtml

Here is a good ballistics calculator... it works really well for me.

Jimmy K

Maverick223
November 13, 2010, 10:53 PM
Good advice, Jimmy...I use the same one sometimes (just depends upon what I am trying to do). Here (http://huntingnut.com/index.php?name=PointBlank) is another free calc. that I use. I find it useful because (if you use a laptop) you can download it and take it into the field for use without an internet connection.

:)

Sky
November 13, 2010, 11:15 PM
The Vortex windage and elevation knobs once your scope is zeroed in can be pulled up/out and turned until the marks are back on Zero. Really works good; you can go (?) clicks up for instance for a long shot yet always return to your original zero setting.

http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=547531

http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=548040

coug
November 13, 2010, 11:41 PM
guys I realy appreciate all the info. your advice is not waisted I have researched most of it today and already have a range sheet made up to start with. skylerbone I will post a pic when I finally get it back. they told me it was going to be done a couple of weeks ago. but the wrong stalks were sent from HS they sent ADLs instead of BDLs. so I don't get to touch it for another 2 weeks. Does anyone know anything about the turrets you can buy from Vortex to match your load? are they any good. thanks guys again ill take any help or opinion I can get.

Sky
November 14, 2010, 08:00 AM
Call Vortex Monday and ask to speak with a Tec Rep. I have found them to be very knowledgeable and responsive.

If you enjoyed reading about "tell me what to expect from my new optics!!" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!