CCI shotshells - when did they first come out?

PDA

nonseven
November 23, 2010, 11:11 AM
Can anyone tell me when the CCI handgun cartridge shotshells (blue plastic capsules) first hit the market?

If you enjoyed reading about "CCI shotshells - when did they first come out?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Jesse Heywood
November 23, 2010, 12:05 PM
From the CCI website
1957 – CCI added shotshells to the line

nonseven
November 23, 2010, 04:35 PM
From the CCI website

Quote:
1957 CCI added shotshells to the line

I saw that, but I'm finding it hard to believe those blue injection molded capsules were around in 1957. Maybe they had a crimped or another version when they were first introduced.

rcmodel
November 23, 2010, 04:39 PM
No, they were around.
I remember the blue plastic .38/.357's being around since I started shooting a .357 in 1962.

I know it's hard to believe, but injection molded Plastic was invented way before 1957!!

rc

nonseven
November 23, 2010, 04:58 PM
Well, that answers my question - I was looking for an old-timer who remembers shooting them back then. I'm well aware that injection molding was around prior to 1957 (it's my business) I just figured that the current blue capsule wouldn't have dated back that long.

So, any patents are long expired.

Why not some new sizes for handloaders? .32 cal, .500 cal, 45 cal extended length capsule for the Judge only, or 454 Casull I suppose.

The tooling is really pretty easy. But there would be some ballistics testing and you'd probably have to come up with some reloading data.

GP100man
November 23, 2010, 05:08 PM
I have a pack around here somewhere that does`nt have upc bars on it ,so that dates em to ????

I cut cards & make a home made version , also form 357Max brass to make full cyl length!!

http://i746.photobucket.com/albums/xx110/GP100man/shotshells-1.jpg

http://i746.photobucket.com/albums/xx110/GP100man/102_0228-1.jpg