Reloading issues with 45 Colt

PDA

huntincowboy
December 13, 2010, 01:57 AM
I am just starting out in reloading and decided to get a lee loader (the one with the hammer) to start reloading for 45 colt. I got the Modern Reloading Manual by Richard Lee and in the tables it specifies to use 200 grain xtp bullets for the particular load I am wanting to make. So i went to pick up components and I got Hornady 200 gr XTP (.451"). I got home and started my first round and when I got to the step when you add the lead I went to seat it and the lead fell through the casing and sat on top of the powder :cuss: . Needless to say I was disappointed. I can't seem to find any info on what may cause this. So I tried not flaring the casing and the bullet would go in by hand still, but it did not fall through. So I thought I would just make a round with no powder or primer and just make sure I had all the steps down and when I turned over the tool to crimp the bullet, I had no luck. It seems to only crimp on one side and that is only when I really get rough with it. This deformed the casing and any attempts to be lighter with it yielded no results. The brass is only once fired, has been resized per instructions in the kit and has been cleaned and lubed. The instructions aren't just overly detailed and I'm not sure what could be wrong. The crimp end just doesn't seem to fit right but I don't really know how it should fit, being as this is my first go around with any kind of reloading equipment. Sorry for such a long post I appreciate the help!

If you enjoyed reading about "Reloading issues with 45 Colt" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ArchAngelCD
December 13, 2010, 04:22 AM
It's been a VERY long time since I used a Lee loader but I'll try to help.