How much should a gunsmith charge to put a K-frame back together?

PDA

John Wayne
December 17, 2010, 04:45 PM
I bought a S&W 13-1, and disassembled the gun to have a look at the internals. I took everything out--hammer, hammer block, trigger, hand, the whole 9 yards. I didn't take the actual hammer assembly or anything else down into its respective components beyond that though. Decided I didn't want to fool with putting it back together (esp. the rebound spring), so I took it to a gunsmith, whom I've never used before.

My instructions were: clean and lubricate parts, install Wolff 13# rebound spring (which I included), and reassemble. I just got a call saying the gun is ready.

The price? $43.50. His hourly rate is $45.

Keep in mind that the gun was already disassembled, and that he used a spring supplied by me.

Is this a reasonable rate? Should it take a competent gunsmith nearly an hour to reassemble a very common gun that was already disassembled to begin with?

If you enjoyed reading about "How much should a gunsmith charge to put a K-frame back together?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
GP100man
December 17, 2010, 05:03 PM
Reasonable in my area !

I charge extra to reassemble components (automotive) when they come in a shoe box !

What does he charge for cleanin the K-frame .

Not to say to be unfair to customers ,it`s just that most of the time it`s taken way down past the point it needed to be to be repaired in the first place !!

Salty1
December 17, 2010, 05:09 PM
Personally I would not complain about that price, I do not feel that it is inexpensive yet in the same breath do not feel like he took advantage of you either.... by the time he sits down with your gun, gets the toold he needs, assembles, tests it and cleans it up I can easily see an hours worth of time invested in it...

PT1911
December 17, 2010, 05:12 PM